Skip to main content
Library Services During COVID-19 Closure
For Students >      For Faculty >
PCC Library Logo

PCC Library Technology Certificate Programs

A Library Guide for prospective/current/alumni students in the Library Technology, Archives & Digital Collections, and Digitization Certifcate Programs at Pasadena City College

Welcome! We're glad you're here! PCC Library Technology Certificate Programs. Archives & Digital Collections Certificate, Digitization Skills Certificate, and Library Technology Certificate.

Interested in our Library Technology Certificate Programs at Pasadena City College? Learn more here! Navigate through important topics on the left, and contact or make an appointment with Outreach Librarian and Library Technology Certificate Programs Coordinator Joanna Chen Cham to get started.

Program Overview

Program Mission Statement 

Pasadena City College’s Library Technology Certificate program prepares students for employment in all types of libraries. The program provides introductory training for those entering the field, and offers continuing education opportunities for those currently employed. Curriculum is developed and updated in consultation with the local library employer community and the national Library Support Staff Certification program. Courses provide practical instruction and training in effective public service, technology and workplace communication skills to successfully interact with library users and staff. 

Program Overview 

Skilled paraprofessionals are needed for various levels of employment in public, academic, school and special libraries. PCC's Library Technology Certificate Program prepares students to work in the dynamic information and technology based world of libraries.The program focuses on job-related skills and practices needed to enter and succeed in the library workplace. The program provides training for paraprofessionals entering the field and also provides continuing education opportunities for those currently employed.  Program courses, developed in consultation with library employers, cover all phases of library public services and provide training and practice in the use of library automated systems including public access, reference, cataloging, circulation, databases and Web search techniques.

Program Outcomes

1. Articulate library principles, roles, and service issues related to the diverse communities libraries serve.
2. Demonstrate library workplace skills by performing various library technician job duties.
3. Demonstrate understanding of successful library service by analyzing library staff interactions with library patrons.

Students can earn a Certificate or an Associate in Science Degree:

Certificate of Achievement   
The Pasadena City College Library Technology Certificate of Achievement prepares students to work as highly skilled paraprofessionals in various levels of employment in public, academic, special and school libraries and information centers. The Certificate of Achievement in Library Technology requires the completion of 7 required classes (19 units).  
Associate in Science Degree 
Students not planning to transfer or complete a bachelor's degree can also pursue an Associate in Science degree in Library Technology by completing the 19-unit program along with general education requirements and electives for a total of 60 units.  Students are encouraged to meet with a PCC Counselor to discuss the requirements for this degree.

Find out more about Associate in Science Degree Requirements 

Career Opportunities and Nature of library technician work:

Library support staff work in tandem with librarians and administrators, playing a key role in making library services more efficient and welcoming to the community. Often, they are the ‘face’ of the library or those working in the background to acquire and process library materials. Library technicians and library assistants work in public services, circulation, children's services, and technical services in all types of libraries and information centers including: public libraries, academic libraries, school libraries, special libraries and information centers. Typical duties of Library technicians include: customer service, technical services (acquisition and materials preparation, organization and maintenance), clerical and administrative tasks and assisting users in locating appropriate resources. Library technicians in smaller libraries may handle a range of duties, while those in large libraries usually specialize. Library technicians and assistants generally work under the supervision of a librarian. With advances in technology, their duties are expanding and evolving with increasing responsibility for daily library operations. These jobs may have other titles, such as library technical assistant, library assistant, library aide or circulation assistant.

Find out more about the Library Technology Program Courses

12/2018

Library Support Staff Certification

LSSC_logo  LIBRARY SUPPORT STAFF CERTIFICATION 

The Library Support Staff Certification (LSSC) Program is a national certification program that allows library support staff to demonstrate their competencies and be certified by the American Library Association. 

PCC's Library Technology Certificate courses are now approved by the American Library Association-Allied Professional Association (ALA-APA).

In January 2012, the American Library Association-Allied Professional Association (ALA-APA) completed an agreement with the Pasadena City College (PCC) Library Technology Certificate Program.  This agreement allows PCC graduates to apply for the Library Support Staff Certification (LSSC) without having to complete additional courses or portfolios.

"Library Support Staff Certificatio (LSSC) program recognizes Pasadena City College Graduates" Press Release: American Libraries -ALA News 2/7/12

Visit the LSSC website for more information on the certification, competency skills sets, eligibility requirements and the online application: (see https://ala-apa.org/lssc/for-candidates/requirements-for-certification)

PCC's Library Technology Certificate Program courses are aligned with these Competency Sets