Skip to Main Content PCC Library Logo

PCC Library Technology Certificate Programs

A Library Guide for prospective/current/alumni students in the Library Technology, Archives & Digital Collections, and Digitization Certifcate Programs at Pasadena City College

Program and Associate Degree Requirements

The Library Technology Certificate of Achievement

The Certificate requires the 19 units and the seven courses listed below. 

Associate in Science in Library Technology

Students can also pursue an Associate in Science degree in Library Technology by completing the 19-unit Certificate along with Associate in Science Degree requirementsand electives for a total of 60 units.  Students are encouraged to meet with a PCC Counselor to discuss their academic goals to determine the specific requirements and the type of Associate degree to pursue. 

Required Courses for the Certificate of Achievement in Library Technology [Effective 2018-19]

LIB 001 - COLLEGE RESEARCH SKILLS   (1 unit)
Fundamentals of college-level research using academic and online research tools. Focus on planning, developing effective search strategies, critical evaluation of information, and documentation of sources following standard citation styles.  Transfer Credit: CSU; UC

Course Student Learning Outcomes (SLO):
1. Formulate effective strategies to access, evaluate and cite information appropriate for their identified research need.

BIT 025 - SURVEY OF COMPUTER TECHNOLOGY IN BUSINESS   (3 units)
Survey of Business information systems and technology, networking, e-commerce, ethics and security, systems hardware and software components, and commonly used business software applications, including word processing, spreadsheets, graphics, and database management. Applications of these concepts and methods through hands-on projects developing computer-based solutions to business
problems. Transfer Credit: CSU. *C-ID: BUS 140

Course Student Learning Outcomes (SLOs):
1. Demonstrate an understanding of how networks of hardware, software, and communication technologies interact to create the
     foundation for productivity and efficiency in an organization or for an individual.
2. Compare software to determine the most appropriate applications and tools to accomplish a task in an organizational setting or for
    personal use.
3. Research and analyze how computer technology can solve problems in society and in the workplace

Alternative courses that can meet this requirement: 

or BIT 106 BUSINESS SOFTWARE-INTRODUCTION TO MICROSOFT OFFICE SYSTEM (3 units)
or CIS 001 INTRODUCTION TO COMPUTERS  (3 units)
or CIS 010 INTRODUCTION TO INFORMATION SYSTEMS (3 units)

LIB 101 - INTRODUCTION TO LIBRARY SERVICES FOR SUPPORT STAFF  (3 units)
                Recommended Preparation: LIB 001 and BIT 106 or experience with standard office software
Characteristics of the main types of libraries with a focus on tools and terminology of library services and the role of library support staff in library operations. Library principles, service philosophy, and issues related to library services are also covered. For students interested in working in library support staff roles, but open to all students.

Course Student Learning Outcomes (SLOs):
1. Compare/contrast the general characteristics and staffing of the main types of libraries.
2. Evaluate common library principles and issues related to library services.
3. Analyze the communication, customer services and technology skills required for library support staff positions.

LIB 102 - INTRODUCTION TO REFERENCE SERVICES  (3 units)
                Prerequisite: Enrollment in or completion of LIB 001.  Recommended Preparation: LIB 101. 
Basic tools, techniques and philosophy of library reference services with a focus on reference interview skills and effective search techniques for assisting library users with basic reference and research inquiries. Social and ethical issues related to reference services policies and patron privacy are also covered. For students interested in working in library support staff roles, but open to all students. 

Course Student Learning Outcomes (SLOs):
1. Synthesize basic reference service principles, tools, techniques, and communication strategies to assist library patrons in meeting their
     information needs.
2. Analyze basic principles, policies, philosophy, and ethical issues of library reference service

LIB 103 - INTRODUCTION TO LIBRARY ACCESS SERVICES  (3 units)
Library circulation and access services with a focus on customer service, online circulation systems, and the organization and maintenance of library collections. Issues related to access services policies and patron privacy are also covered. For students interested in working in library support staff roles, but open to all students. 

Course Student Learning Outcomes (SLOs):
1. Synthesize techniques, procedures, and customer service strategies to complete library access services functions and transactions. 
2. Analyze library policies and legal and ethical issues related to patron access, patron privacy, library security, and copyright.

LIB 104 - INTRODUCTION TO LIBRARY TECHNICAL SERVICES  (3 units)
                Recommended Preparation: Lib 101. [Prerequisite for LIB 105A]
Fundamentals of library technical services with a focus on the tools and skills needed for library acquisitions and processing library materials. Issues related to collection development policies and access to library materials are also covered. For students interested in working in library support staff roles, but open to all students. 

Course Student Learning Outcomes (SLOs):
1 Apply basic library technical services resources and processes to properly manage library materials.
2. Explain organizational, ethical, and legal issues related to library technical services

LIB 105A - DESCRIPTIVE CATALOGING PROCEDURES IN ONLINE ENVIRONMENTS  (3 units)
                   Prerequisite: Lib 104. 
Basic principles of descriptive cataloging with a focus on the tools and skills needed for copy cataloging using national standards and common bibliographic utilities. Includes an overview of the basic principles of subject classification and issues related to bibliographic and authority control in online catalogs. For students interested in working in library support staff roles, but open to all students. 

Course Student Learning Outcomes (SLOs):
1. Demonstrate descriptive cataloging procedures by accurately analyzing and enhancing  Machine Readable Cataloging Records
    (MARC) in a bibliographic database.
2. Critique issues related to the need for bibliographic and authority control in online catalogs
 

7/2018