Skip to main content

[!]Library services during the COVID-19 Campus Closure: see information for students and faculty.

PCC Library Logo

Archives Assistant & Digitization Skills Certificate Programs

Two Certificate Programs For Work in Archives and Digital Collections

Want to gain practical experience using industry standards to prepare you to enter and succeed as support staff in workplaces such as libraries, special collections and archives? These Certificate programs focus on job-related skills and practical experience using industry standards to provide training for those entering the field and provide continuing education opportunities for those currently employed.

PCC offers two related Certificates

Students can earn one or both Certificates described below. 

Use the tabs on the left to find our more details on required courses. 

DIGITIZATION SKILLS FOR LIBRARIES & CULTURAL HERITAGE ORGANIZATIONS 
Four courses, 8 units, Occupational Skills Certificate

The DIGITIZATION SKILLS CERTIFICATE curriculum prepares students to work in digital repositories found in libraries, archives, museums and other cultural heritage organizations. Instruction includes: project planning, digitization, metadata, copyright, preservation and end user access to digital materials. Students gain practical experience using industry standards in order to prepare them for entering the workforce.

Digitization Skills Certificate coursework includes:

  • Digital project planning (students build their own digital collections using PCC's equipment)
  • Digital imaging equipment, standards and techniques for creating quality digital images
  • Digital asset management systems use to build and manage collections (commercial and open-source)
  • Basic principles of metadata schemas for end user access to digital materials
  • Copyright and privacy issues relating to digital projects
  • Application of skills and concepts in an established digitization project (Internship).

Certificate Program Outcomes

  1. Analyze the selection, technical and copyright issues that impact the success of digital projects.
  2. Apply established digitization protocols and standards to produce digital representations of archival materials
  3. Apply established protocols and metadata standards to provide access to digital objects in digital asset management systems

ARCHIVES & DIGITAL COLLECTIONS ASSISTANT
Seven courses,16 units, Certificate of Achievement

The ARCHIVES & DIGITAL COLLECTIONS ASSISTANT Certificate curriculum prepares students for work with archival materials as well as 'born digital" collections found in libraries, archives, museums and other cultural heritage organizations. This more comprehensive certificate incorporates and expands on the shorter DIGITIZATION SKILLS CERTIFICATE with three additional courses on archival practices, digital image editing and digital preservation skills to better prepare students for work in archives, special collections and the digitization field.

In addition to the DIGITIZATION SKILLS CERTIFICATE courses, the ARCHIVES & DIGITAL COLLECTIONS ASSISTANT coursework includes (eff. 2019/20): 

  • Introduction to the components and processes of archives and best practices for handling, arranging, describing and preserving archival materials.
  • Introduction to industry standard digital image editing tools and techniques.
  • Techniques, protocols and standards for digitization and preservation of "born digital" and reformatted material of long term value
  • Strategies to ensure that digital information is preserved to remain accessible and usable over time. 

Certificate Program Outcomes

  1. Analyze the selection and technical issues that impact the success of digital projects.
  2. Formulate strategies and tactics for preserving digital archives.
  3. Follow established protocols and standards to digitize, preserve documents and other information of long term value.
  4. Follow established protocols and metadata standards to provide access to digital objects in digital asset management systems.
  5. Analyze the relationship of the basic components and processes of archives, including inventory, appraisal, disposition, acquisition, arrangement,description, preservation, access, use, and outreach.
  6. Apply best practices for handling, arrangement and preservation of archival collections.

effective: 2019/20

  1. Analyze the selection, technical and copyright issues that impact the success of archival and digital projects.
  2. Apply established digitization protocols and standards to produce digital representations of archival materials.
  3. Apply established protocols and metadata standards to provide access to digital objects in digital asset management systems.
  4. Analyze methods, issues and best practices for handling, organizing, and preservation of archival collections .
  5. Evaluate digital preservation strategies, methods and tools to determine what may be appropriate for particular material types, users and institutions.
  6. Demonstrate proficiency in basic digital image editing, processing, and manipulation techniques. 

rev 1/2019