Pre-requisites, Course Substitutions, Certification Completions, and FAQs
Frequently Asked Questions
How do I apply to Pasadena City College? Apply and Get Started at PCC through the Admissions Office. Admission is rolling throughout the year.
How much does the PCC Library Certificate program cost? Tuition and fees per semester/term are listed online.
How long does it take to complete the PCC Library Certificate program? Each of our PCC Library Certificate Programs - Library Technology, Digitization Skills, and Archives & Digital Collections - can be completed within 1 to 1.5 years.
Are the classes offered online? Most of our classes are offered online as Distance Education classes. In our Library Technology Certificate program, all the courses are offered as online, asynchronous courses, with LIB 001, College Research Skills, occasionally offered as an in-person class on Friday mornings. For our Digitization Skills and Archives & Digital Collections Certificate programs, most of our courses are offered online, though some classes may be offered as hybrid (online, with required in-person dates/times) depending on the semester. Depending on the class, there may also be opportunities to meet in person and/or check out equipment for hands-on practical experience.
Can I take a class without fulfilling the prerequisite(s)? Our Library Technology, Archives & Digital Collections, and Digitization courses build upon each other, but there are instances in which a student may want take a course out of sequence because of availability or scheduling and feel that they have the background and experience necessary to succeed the class. If that is you, please submit a Prerequisite Clearance/Challenge through the Prerequisite Office, which will then be reviewed and processed by the Library Division and Dean. Submit all related documents and experience for review as well. Attach transcripts of any relevant education, an updated resume if appropriate, and a short letter describing how your background and experience has given you the knowledge and skills necessary to succeed in the course. Please address the specific Student Learning Outcomes listed in the prerequisite course listed. You can find that information at: https://webcms.pasadena.edu/webcms/PublicAccess.aspx.
What if I have taken classes at another community college? Our Library Technology, Archives & Digital Collections, and Digitization courses build upon each other, but there are instances in which a student may have already taken a course out at another college of university. If that is you and you would like to substitute a course in the Library Certificate Programs, please submit a Course Substitution request by submitting a form through the Admissions and Records office, which will then go for review by the Library Division and Dean. Make sure to submit the documents necessary to submit a Course Substitution Request by using the link above. Send official transcripts of the course you wish to use for the substitution, as well as a short letter describing how the content covered in your previous course match the specific Student Learning Outcomes listed in the prerequisite course listed. You can find that information at: https://webcms.pasadena.edu/webcms/PublicAccess.aspx. You will also need to provide the official course description and Student Learning Outcomes of the course you are wishing to use as a substitution, from the academic term in which you took it. If you have any questions, please contact the Program Coordinator.
How can I learn more about program internship(s)? To learn more about how internships work at PCC, Information can be found on the Research Guide. To get started, schedule an appointment with the PCC Library Certificate Programs Coordinator to get started. Please note that prerequisites must be completed prior to starting an internship.
How can I apply for my Certificate of Achievement(s)? Students who have completed all the required courses can apply for their Certificate of Achievement by completing the application found online, and then submitting the completed application to the PCC Library Certificate Programs Coordinator via email with the subject: "Application for Certificate of Achievement in [name of Program] for [Name of Student]." Please complete a separate form for each completed program, and include written documentation and approval of any course substitutions.
Use this form to apply for a Certificate of Achievement in Library Technology, Digitization Skills for Libraries and Cultural Heritage Institutions, and Archives & Digital Collections Assistant Certificates. Download, complete, and send completed application to the Library Certificate Programs Coordinator.