This resource guide will help you:
Sponsored by the US Bureau of Labor Statistics, this resource is the government's premier source of career guidance featuring hundreds of occupations. Learn about occupations, job descriptions, training, pay, and future career projections.
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, Career One Stop is a user-friendly and interactive resource to help users learn about careers, find training, search for a job. and find local help. This resource also offers specialized information targeted at specific users such as entry level workers, veterans, young adults, individuals with disabilities, and workers with a criminal conviction.
Robert G. Freeman Center for Career and Completion
The Robert G. Freeman Center for Career and Completion at Pasadena City College offers career guidance and support. Find services and support for your career development journey! Visit the Explore Careers and Majors section to learn specific information about careers.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (Section 12: Labor Force, Employment, and Earnings)
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.
Professional Association Finder
This tool from Career One Stop helps users locate national professional associations by association name, occupation, or industry served.
A combined search of a wide variety of ProQuest databases offering full text access to articles from academic journals, newspapers, magazines and other periodicals covering a variety of subject areas. Includes ProQuest Research Library, GenderWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, and many more databases.
NC State University Libraries. "How to Read a Scholarly Article." YouTube, uploaded by libncsu, June 7, 2022, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ThCL_3GQZSc
Scholarly articles are written for a different audience and with different purposes than popular literature like books, magazines, newspapers, and websites. This video (7:03) demonstrates how academic researchers approach reading peer-reviewed articles. Reading these expert articles is not necessarily a linear process but requires focus and time.
Don't see an eBook for your discourse community or career in this list? Ask a Librarian! We can help you find an e-resource that better fits your research need.
Careers for the Criminal Justice Major by
The purpose of this book is to address the proper preparation for careers in criminal justice. Now more than ever, there is a societal demand for willing college graduates who are prepared to enter the field at the basic level, and eager to develop themselves into positions of responsibility and leadership. Due to rapid and continuous changes in technology and overall society, students entering the field of criminal justice employment will be expected to adjust to changes in their line of work. This book describes the realistic descriptions of the various entry-level positions that are offered, and practical information is provided to maximize efficiency in the selection of academic courses that will improve a student's likelihood of success during the application process. Major topics include: A Short History of Criminal Justice as an Academic Study; The Nature of Professions; Electives that Will Help; The Importance of an Internship; Disqualifiers and What to Avoid During College Years; Stereotypes and Misperceptions in Criminal Justice Employment; Careers in Law Enforcement, Corrections, and Private Security; Graduate School and Law School; Realistic Alternatives; Networking, Looking for Employment Leads, and References; Preparing for Testing and the Interview; Preparing for Transfers to Specialized Units and Promotions; and the Roles of Nontraditional Students, Minorities, and Women in Criminal Justice. The names of state law enforcement training councils, federal law enforcement agencies, intelligence agencies, state regulatory agencies, federal regulatory agencies, and criminal justice professional associations are contained in the Appendices to assist students and faculty members. This valuable resource is designed to assist college students majoring in criminal justice, police academics, and law enforcement professionals.
Careers in Green Energy by
This ongoing series serves as a stepping stone in understanding specific careers and provides a wealth of information on the education and training needed within each profession along with a look towards the future of the field with an informative employment outlook.
Careers in Social Media by
This ongoing series serves as a stepping stone in understanding specific careers and provides a wealth of information on the education and training needed within each profession along with a look towards the future of the field with an informative employment outlook. As positions in communications and social media continue to evolve, students can look forward to working in a dynamic industry that allows them to pursue a career in the areas of e-commerce, entertainment, colleges and universities, government, media, journalism, and non-profit. In fact, opportunities in social media are continuing to grow as established platforms are joined by new outlets. This volume provides need-to-know information on various careers in this ever-expanding area including: Blogger Product Reviewer Social Media Officer Advertising Marketing/Branding Reporter/Journalist Photographer Videographer Critic/Reviewer Each chapter provides a wealth of real-world information including A Day in the Life, Work Environment, Education & Training, Earnings & Advancement, Employment Outlook, Networking Contacts, Areas with the Highest Employment Levels, and Coversations with Real Professionals.
Careers Outdoors by
Students looking to pursue a career that takes them out of the office and puts them directly into nature can look to several careers that build on an interest in the natural sciences, ecology, the environment, historical preservation, archaeology, and agriculture. This volume provides need-to-know information on various careers that put a whole new spin on the idea of ""working in the field."" Careers Outdoors provides detailed information on 24 different career paths, including: Landscape Architect or Gardener Land Surveyor Archeologist Golf Instruction Lifeguard Forest Ranger Farmer Rancher Carpenter Miner Commercial Fisherman Carnival & Festival Organizers Each chapter provides a wealth of real-world information including A Day in the Life, Work Environment, Education & Training, Earnings & Advancement, Employment Outlook, Networking Contacts, Areas with the Highest Employment Levels, and Coversations with Real Professionals.
Data Science Education, Training, and Careers by
This book is an information packed overview of how to structure a data science career, a data science degree program, and how to hire a data science team, including resources and insights from the authors experience with national and international large-scale data projects as well as industry, academic and government partnerships, education, and workforce. Outlined here are tips and insights into navigating the data ecosystem as it currently stands, including career skills, current training programs, as well as practical hiring help and resources. Also, threaded through the book is the outline of a data ecosystem, as it could ultimately emerge, and how career seekers, training programs, and hiring managers can steer their careers, degree programs, and organizations to align with the broader future of data science. Instead of riding the current wave, the author ultimately seeks to help professionals, programs, and organizations alike prepare a sustainable plan for growth in this ever-changing world of data. The book is divided into three sections, the first "Building Data Careers", is from the perspective of a potential career seeker interested in a career in data, the second "Building Data Programs" is from the perspective of a newly forming data science degree or training program, and the third "Building Data Talent and Workforce" is from the perspective of a Data and Analytics Hiring Manager. Each is a detailed introduction to the topic with practical steps and professional recommendations. The reason for presenting the book from different points of view is that, in the fast-paced data landscape, it is helpful to each group to more thoroughly understand the desires and challenges of the other. It will, for example, help the career seekers to understand best practices for hiring managers to better position themselves for jobs. It will be invaluable for data training programs to gain the perspective of career seekers, who they want to help and attract as students. Also, hiring managers will not only need data talent to hire, but workforce pipelines that can only come from partnerships with universities, data training programs, and educational experts. The interplay gives a broader perspective from which to build.
Encountering, Experiencing and Shaping Careers by
This book investigates how people encounter, experience and shape their careers. Both the concept and the reality of a career is changing as organisations respond to globalisation and market forces. This impact is reflected in the internal labour market and hence career journeys of individuals. How people think about their career and career choices is more diverse than ever before due not only to environmental transformations but also to variations in the workforce, consisting now of five generations. With each new generation, there is little argument that contemplating career choices, seeking and promoting work opportunities as well as hiring relationships are now markedly different and less certain than previously. People have now and increasingly a greater choice over when, where, how to work and for how long. This book will provide learning for those people early in their careers as well as those in mid to later career, looking to develop or enrich their careers in some way. Understanding how work functions in people's lives; the personal and family costs incurred in maintaining and exiting a career, and how and why remaining or leaving a career is successful or not, is highly relevant. The need for career support, derived from personal, professional and organisational connections plays an important role in career choice, career transition, and career opportunities. Creativity and other 21st century skills, the vital dimensions of career development, is also discussed in this book.
Exploring Careers in Cybersecurity and Digital Forensics by
Exploring Careers in Cybersecurity and Digital Forensics is a one stop shop for students and advisors, providing information about education, certifications, and tools to guide them in making career decisions within the field. Cybersecurity is a fairly new academic discipline and with the continued rise in cyberattacks, the need for technological and non-technological skills in responding to criminal digital behavior, as well as the requirement to respond, investigate, gather and preserve evidence is growing. Exploring Careers in Cybersecurity and Digital Forensics is designed to help students and professionals navigate the unique opportunity that a career in digital forensics and cybersecurity provides. From undergraduate degrees, the job hunt and networking, to certifications and mid-career transitions, this book is a useful tool to students, advisors, and professionals alike. Lucy Tsado and Robert Osgood help students and school administrators understand the opportunity that exists in the cybersecurity and digital forensics field, provide guidance for students and professionals out there looking for alternatives through degrees, and offer solutions to close the cybersecurity skills gap through student recruiting and retention in the field.
Making Motherhood Work by
A moving, cross-national account of working mothers' daily lives--and the revolution in public policy and culture needed to improve them The work-family conflict that mothers experience today is a national crisis. Women struggle to balance breadwinning with the bulk of parenting, and stress is constant. Social policies don't help. Of all Western industrialized countries, the United States ranks dead last for supportive work-family policies: No federal paid parental leave. The highest gender wage gap. No minimum standard for vacation and sick days. The highest maternal and child poverty rates. Can American women look to European policies for solutions? Making Motherhood Work draws on interviews that sociologist Caitlyn Collins conducted over five years with 135 middle-class working mothers in Sweden, Germany, Italy, and the United States. She explores how women navigate work and family given the different policy supports available in each country. Taking readers into women's homes, neighborhoods, and workplaces, Collins shows that mothers' desires and expectations depend heavily on context. In Sweden--renowned for its gender-equal policies--mothers assume they will receive support from their partners, employers, and the government. In the former East Germany, with its history of mandated employment, mothers don't feel conflicted about working, but some curtail their work hours and ambitions. Mothers in western Germany and Italy, where maternalist values are strong, are stigmatized for pursuing careers. Meanwhile, American working mothers stand apart for their guilt and worry. Policies alone, Collins discovers, cannot solve women's struggles. Easing them will require a deeper understanding of cultural beliefs about gender equality, employment, and motherhood. With women held to unrealistic standards in all four countries, the best solutions demand that we redefine motherhood, work, and family. Making Motherhood Work vividly demonstrates that women need not accept their work-family conflict as inevitable.
Remaining Relevant in Your Tech Career by
Remain relevant in the face of constant change during your career in technology. This book shows you how to proactively plan in anticipation of future changes. Many people find technology careers enticing because of the number of job opportunities, the high compensation, or simply because of fascination with technology itself. Once in those careers, however, there are many challenges to remaining relevant and at one's peak in the face of constantly shifting competitive and technology landscapes. Incumbents face a constant stream of new skills to learn that are often already known by more recent graduates entering the market at lower compensation rates. There also are time-to-market challenges and the need to keep up with the introduction of automation. This book was written based on the author's experience gained over 40 years working with and in technology-related fields and companies. It provides practical guidance on remaining relevant as changes are expected to occur in technology at ever faster rates in coming decades. What You'll Learn Know what companies really want Realize the importance of alignment with company culture Understand the political landscape and how to use it to advantage Discover why creating, maintaining, and operating in a diverse environment is beneficial Master strategies for skills development Future-proof your career Who This Book Is For Technology professionals who want to remain relevant and happy while navigating their current career and university students who are pursuing a STEM career and actively planning their future
Substance Abuse Counselors by
Welcome to the substance abuse counselor field! If you are interested in a career as a substance abuse counselor, you've come to the right book. What exactly do these people do on the job every day? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in this field? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various professions? Is this the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. Substance Abuse Counselors: A Practical Career Guide includes interviews with substance abuse counselors.
Create and check your citations using one of these MLA style guides:
Includes guidelines and examples of MLA citations.
Examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and Works Cited pages.
The MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list.
PCC Library has several copies located at the Reference Desk and Circulation Desk.
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2021
Walks through setting up "hanging indents" in Microsoft Word and Google Docs