ENGL 1A - Banks - English Research Guide - Research Guides at Pasadena City College

Welcome ENG 1A students!

This resource guide will help you:

Locate library databases that contain scholarly/peer-reviewed articles and more.
Utilize strategies to search for resources in a library database.
Locate where to get further assistance from a librarian.

Here are the slides shown during the in-person library research session:

Getting Started

The US History Gale in Context database is a great starting point for researching Native American tribes.

Take a look at these pages below:

Use the keyword search box to search on the name of additional Native American tribes.

Suggested Databases

Great for background information:

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Large collection of reference books providing background information on a variety of subjects. PCC offers a brief video with instructions for using this database.
U.S. History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Covers themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. Includes historical (primary) documents, reference articles, journal citations and full-text journal articles.

Great for scholarly/academic articles:

JSTOR (including Artstor) This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly journal articles, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
EBSCOhost (Combined) This link opens in a new window
Contains journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering all disciplines. PCC offers a brief video with instructions for using this database.
ProQuest (combined) This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from academic journals, newspapers, magazines and other periodicals covering a variety of subject areas.

Other Databases:

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Contains digital images covering many time periods and cultures. Images cover a wide range of subject areas, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design.
Academic Video Online: AVON (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Contains over 70,000 videos including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains news articles from newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals of the ethnic and minority press.
US Major Dailies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains newspaper articles from the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, and Washington Post. PCC offers a brief video with instructions for using this database.

Websites:

National Museum of the American Indian (Smithsonian)
Contains digital images of objects from the museum collections.

Looking for more databases to choose from?
Check out PCC Library's full list of databases on the A-Z Database List page

MLA Style

Create and check your citations using one of these MLA style guides:

MLA Style "Quick Guide" from PCC

Includes guidelines and examples of MLA citations.

MLA Formatting and Style Guide from OWL Purdue

Examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and Works Cited pages.

MLA Handbook, 9th Edition

The MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list.

PCC Library has several copies located at the Reference Desk and Circulation Desk.

Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2021