Skip to Main Content

English Research Guide

Welcome, ENG 1A students!

This guide provides information for conducting research using PCC Library resources.

Types of Information Sources

Types of Information (PowerPoint version)

PCC Library Catalog

A single search box covers our catalog of books and DVDs, as well as a large number of the periodical articles in our collection. You can search All, or you can use the tabs above the search box to narrow your search to Articles or Books.

Start your search here!

Advanced Search Off Campus Access

Recommended Databases for Articles

These databases contain articles on a wide variety of topics:

ProQuest (combined) This link opens in a new window
Includes full text access to articles from academic journals, newspapers, magazines and other periodicals covering a variety of subject areas.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Includes full text access to articles from academic journals, newspapers, magazines and other periodicals covering a variety of subject areas.
JSTOR (including Artstor) This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly journal articles, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR also incorporates the thousands of searchable, high-quality Artstor images covering architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and more.

Recommended Databases for Videos

These databases contain videos on a wide variety of topics:

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Over 48,000 full length programs and more than 329,000 segments on a wide variety of educational subjects. Most are closed captioned.
Academic Video Online: AVON (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 70,000 videos including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage.