Skip to main content
Library Services During COVID-19 Closure
For Students >      For Faculty >
PCC Library Logo

Archives Assistant & Digitization Skills Certificate Programs

 

Man in glasses digitizing documents using a flatbed scanner.    
     

WHY DO A DIGITIZATION INTERNSHIP?

Given the increasing demand for digital access to historical materials, there is a shortage of trained staff familiar with the technologies used in both creating and managing digital files for libraries and cultural heritage collections.

This curriculum prepares students to work in digital repositories found in libraries, archives, museums and other cultural heritage organizations. Instruction includes: project planning, digitization, metadata, copyright, preservation and end user access to digital materials.

Through coursework and the LIB 126 Archives & Digital Collections Internship, students will gain practical experience using industry standards in order to prepare them for entering the workforce.

 

LIB 126 ARCHIVES & DIGITAL COLLECTIONS INTERNSHIP COURSE DESCRIPTION

LIB 126 COURSE DESCRIPTION

Prerequisites: LIB 120, LIB 121 & LIB 122.  Co-requisite: LIB 124 Supervised practical experience working in an approved archives, specialized collection or digital project in a library, museum, or other type of organization. Pass/no pass grading. Requires 60 hours of non-paid work or 75 hours of paid work for one semester unit.  Offered in the Summer.

[NOTE: Students pursuing the Digitization Skills Certificate should contact the program coordinator about waiving the Archives Certificate prerequisite courses.] 

 

Student Learning Outcomes

Students will be assessed on their ability to:

1.  Demonstrate processes and best practice techniques. 

For Digital Projects Sites: Demonstrate processes and best practice techniques for creating archival images and/or Demonstrate skill in creating complete metadata records following the best practices standards of the institution.
For Archives Sites: Demonstrate processes and best practice techniques for appraising, handling,organizing,  preserving and/or describing archival materials.  

 

2. Describe and evaluate participation in a digital project or archives as a tool for learning and potential employment.

5/2019

LIB 126: ARCHIVES & DIGITAL COLLECTIONS INTERNSHIP: IMPORTANT INFORMATION

Ready to get started?

 

Important Note

Pasadena City College requires an Internship Agreement Contract with all internship sites. The contract must be approved by the Board and be completed by the end of May for Summer internships. To plan for the internship start and end dates, check the PCC Academic Calendar and navigate to the current Academic Year.

 

Applying for an Internship

  1. To start the internship process, reach out to Outreach Librarian/Library Technology Certificate Programs Coordinator Joanna Chen Cham as soon as possible to discuss internship goals and process.

  2. Prepare a Cover Letter and Resume to apply for internships.

  3. Reach out to potential Internship Sites to arrange for a Digitization Internship. Potential internship sites are welcome to reach out to Outreach Librarian/Library Technology Certificate Programs Coordinator Joanna Chen Cham  with any questions. (Note: You may apply to multiple internships, but the course will only be with one site).

  4. Once an internship has been confirmed, reach out to  Outreach Librarian/Library Technology Certificate Programs Coordinator Joanna Chen Cham to initialize the Internship Agreement Contract process. At this point, PCC will reach out to the Internship Site and both the college and the site will have to sign the contract, which will then go to the Board to be approved, and then be executed.

  5. Once the Internship Agreement Contract has been signed, approved, and executed, you will be be able to add the course. Check in periodically with Outreach Librarian/Library Technology Certificate Programs Coordinator Joanna Chen Cham with any requests for updates.

‚Äč

Registering for Internship Credit (LIB126)

After you have accepted an internship opportunity, contact Outreach Librarian/Library Technology Certificate Programs Coordinator Joanna Chen Cham for approval and an add code to register for the LIB 126 Archives & Digital Collections Internship course.  

 

Any More Questions?

Please contact Outreach Librarian/Library Technology Certificate Programs Coordinator Joanna Chen Cham.

Phone: (626) 585-7820

Email: jcham@pasadena.edu

FOR STUDENTS: INTERNSHIP FORMS

 

Internship Forms

FOR INTERNSHIP SITES: INSTRUCTIONS AND FORMS

Are You Interested in Becoming a PCC Library Technology or Archives & Digital Collections Internship Site?


Please contact the Outreach Librarian/Library Technology Certificate Programs Coordinator, Joanna Chen Cham, if you are interested in sponsoring an intern at your organization. Internship sites will need to sign an Internship Agreement Contract with Pasadena City College and contracts must be approved by the Board.