Skip to main content
Library Services During COVID-19 Closure
For Students >      For Faculty >
PCC Library Logo

Archives Assistant & Digitization Skills Certificate Programs

Archives & Digital Collections Assistant - Certificate of Achievement (16 Units)

NEW - Starting in Fall 2018

  Archive with materials in archival boxes, and compressed shelving and on table        Image collage from the New York Public Library Public Domain Digital Collections

ARCHIVES & DIGITAL COLLECTIONS ASSISTANT  (Certificate of Achievement -7 courses, 16 units)

This Certificate of Achievement prepares students for assistant-level work in traditional and digital archival collections. 

The ARCHIVES & DIGITAL COLLECTIONS ASSISTANT Certificate incorporates and expands on the shorter DIGITIZATION SKILLS CERTIFICATE with three additional courses on archival practices, digital image editing and digital preservation skills to better prepare students for work in archives, special collections and the digitization field.

image sources: https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/8/8d/Archival_collection.JPG/800pxArchival_collection.JPG; 
https://heard.org/library/archives/; https://www.nypl.org/blog/2016/01/05/share-public-domain-collections 

List of Required Courses

LIB 120 - INTRODUCTION TO ARCHIVES & SPECIAL COLLECTIONS 

Course Description
Basic archival principles and practices including: handling, storing, describing, organizing, and  preserving documents 
and data. Use of Describing Archival Collections (DACs) for discovery of archival collections. Survey of current online systems for 
managing archival materials.  (3.0 Units, Hybrid - partially online with some on-campus meetings)

Student Learning Outcomes - Students will be assessed on their ability to:

1. Analyze methods for appraising, handling, organizing, preserving and describing archival materials.       2. Assess the issues related to handling, protection and access of archival collections

LIB 121 - TECHNOLOGIES & PROCESSES FOR DIGITAL COLLECTIONS 

Course Description: 
Basic processes of digital repositories including assessing collection materials, scanning, managing files for preservation, quality control and the use of digital asset management systems. (3 units, Hybrid - partially online with some 
on-campus meetings)

Student Learning Outcomes - Students will be assessed on their ability to:

1. Identify the challenges and options relating to selection, imaging and delivery of digital objects.   2. Create digital objects using imaging equipment and digital asset management software

LIB 122 - INTRODUCTION TO METADATA FOR DIGITAL OBJECTS 

Course Description: 
Study of the basic principles of metadata development for digital repositories. Includes a survey of the most commonly adopted metadata schemas and controlled vocabularies with an emphasis on using the Dublin Core schema to create shareable metadata records. Students will gain practical experience in applying a selected metadata standard to a collection of digital objects.
Prerequisite: LIB 121. (3 units; Hybrid - online and on-campus) 

Student Learning Outcomes - Students will be assessed on their ability to:

  1. Identify the options available to libraries and cultural heritage organizations when selecting and implementing a metadata schema for a digital collection.
  2. Implement a metadata schema for a digital collection.

LIB 123 - INTRODUCTION TO COPYRIGHT ISSUES FOR DIGITAL COLLECTIONS 

Course Description: 
Introduction to copyright and privacy issues relating to digital projects. Includes an overview of public domain, fair-use, licensing, copyright status as selection criteria, and rights metadata. (1 unit, 6 weeks; fully online) Prerequisite: LIB 121.

Student Learning Outcomes - Students will be assessed on their ability to:

  1. Apply general principles of copyright to assess the copyright status of original works of authorship to determine appropriateness for digitization. 
  2. Create a plan for communicating copyright status and use restrictions of digital content to online users.

LIB 124 - SURVEY OF DIGITAL PRESERVATION

Course Description:
Examination of core components and functions of a digital preservation program. Topics include digital preservation strategies, tools, and policies that work effectively for a variety of data types and cultural heritage organizations. (2 units, Hybrid - partially online with some on-campus meetings)
Prerequisite: Enrollment in or completion of LIB 121 and LIB 122, or equivalent skills as demonstrated through placement based on the Library Technology Assessment process

Student Learning Outcomes - Students will be assessed on their ability to:

  1. Identify and assess standards for digital preservation.
  2. Evaluate digital preservation strategies, methods and tools to determine what may be appropriate for particular material types, users and institutions.

LIB 126 ARCHIVES & DIGITAL COLLECTIONS INTERNSHIP

Course Description: 
Supervised practical experience working in an approved archives, specialized collection or digital project in a library, museum, or other type of organization. Pass/no pass grading. Requires 60 hours of non-paid work or 75 hours of paid work for one semester unit. 
Prerequisites: LIB 121 & LIB 122. 
Student Learning Outcomes - Students will be assessed on their ability to:

  1. Demonstrate processes and best practice techniques 
For Digital Projects Sites: Demonstrate processes and best practice techniques for creating archival images 
and/or Demonstrate skill in creating complete metadata records following the best practices standards of the
institution
For Archives Sites: Demonstrate processes and best practice techniques for appraising, handling, organizing, preserving and/or describing archival materials.  

        2. Describe and evaluate participation in a digital project or archives as a tool for learning and potential employment. 

 

PHOT 030 - INTRODUCTION TO DIGITAL IMAGE EDITING   

Course Description:
Introduction to artistic image editing using industry standard digital image editing software for photographers, illustrators and graphic 
designers. Techniques to scan, edit, retouch, paint, mask, manipulate, and output digital imagery. 
(3.0 Units, 36 hours lecture and 72 hours laboratory)
Prerequisite: PHOT 021 INTRODUCTION TO PHOTOGRAPHY or placement based on the Photography assessment process.

Student Learning Outcomes: Students will be assessed on their ability to:

1. Demonstrate proficiency in basic digital image editing, processing, and manipulation techniques.   2. Recognize the technical qualities, cultural elements and aesthetic values of their own and others work.   3. Produce a portfolio of images that demonstrate competency in basic digital image editing techniques and visual expression. 

NOTE: PHOT 030 has a prerequisite of previous Photography coursework or experience. 

  • If you have any photography experience and/or coursework you can challenge the prerequisite. 
  • ‚ÄčIf you do not have photography experience or coursework, we can discuss other options, such as taking a photography course (e.g. PHOT 021) at PCC or elsewhere.
  • Other colleges (e.g. Glendale CC and East LA College) offer courses similar to PCC's PHOT 030 that could be substituted for this requirement. Contact the program coordinator to discuss these options.

RECOMMENDED ELECTIVES

  • BIT 025 - SURVEY OF COMPUTER TECHNOLOGY IN BUSINESS (Offered online and on-campus, Fall, Winter,Spring, Summer)
    Course Description:
    Survey of Business information systems and technology, networking, e-commerce, ethics and security, systems hardware 
    and software components, and commonly used business software applications, including word processing, spreadsheets, graphics, and database management. Applications of these concepts and methods through hands-on projects developing computer-based solutions to business problems. (3 units) 
  • LIB 105A DESCRIPTIVE CATALOGING (Offered in Spring) 

Course Description
Basic principles of descriptive cataloging with a focus on the tools and skills needed for copy cataloging using national standards and common bibliographic utilities. Includes an overview of the basic principles of subject classification and issues related to bibliographic and authority control in online catalogs. For students interested in working in library support staff roles, but open to all students

Student Learning Outcomes - Students will be assessed on their ability to:

  • Demonstrate descriptive cataloging procedures by accurately analyzing and enhancing  Machine Readable Cataloging Records (MARC) in a bibliographic database.
  • Critique issues related to the need for bibliographic and authority control in online catalogs.

2/2019