Skip to main content

Archives Assistant & Digitization Skills Certificate Programs

Digitization Skills for Libraries and Cultural Heritage Organizations (8 Units; Occupational Skills Certificate)

staff scanning document  

DIGITIZATION SKILLS FOR LIBRARIES AND CULTURAL HERITAGE ORGANIZATIONS (Occupational Skills Certificate -  4 course, 8 units) 

This Occupational Skills Certificate prepares students for work in digital repositories found in libraries, archives, museums, and business settings.

Digitization Skills Certificate - Required Courses and Schedule

FALL COURSE

LIB 121 - INTRODUCTION TO TECHNOLOGIES FOR DIGITAL COLLECTIONS 

Course Description: 
Basic processes of digital repositories including assessing collection materials, scanning, managing files for preservation, quality control and the use of digital asset management systems. (3.0 Units, Hybrid - partially online with some 
on-campus meetings)

Student Learning Outcomes - Students will be assessed on their ability to:

1. Identify the challenges and options relating to selection, imaging and delivery of digital objects.   2. Create digital objects using imaging equipment and digital asset management software

WINTER COURSE: 

LIB 123 - INTRODUCTION TO COPYRIGHT ISSUES FOR DIGITAL COLLECTIONS 

Course Description: 
Introduction to copyright and privacy issues relating to digital projects. Includes an overview of public domain, fair-use, licensing, copyright status as selection criteria, and rights metadata. (1 unit, 6 weeks; fully online) Prerequisite: LIB 121.

Student Learning Outcomes - Students will be assessed on their ability to:

  1. Apply general principles of copyright to assess the copyright status of original works of authorship to determine appropriateness for digitization. 
  2. Create a plan for communicating copyright status and use restrictions of digital content to online users.

SPRING COURSE:

LIB 122 - INTRODUCTION TO METADATA FOR DIGITAL OBJECTS 

Course Description: 
Study of the basic principles of metadata development for digital repositories. Includes a survey of the most commonly adopted metadata schemas and controlled vocabularies with an emphasis on using the Dublin Core schema to create shareable metadata records. Students will gain practical experience in applying a selected metadata standard to a collection of digital objects. Prerequisite: LIB 121.
(3.0 Units; Hybrid - online and on-campus) 

Student Learning Outcomes - Students will be assessed on their ability to:

  1. Identify the options available to libraries and cultural heritage organizations when selecting and implementing a metadata schema for a digital collection.
  2. Implement a metadata schema for a digital collection.

SUMMER COURSE:

LIB 126 DIGITIZATION INTERNSHIP

Course Description: 
Supervised practical experience working in an approved archives, specialized collection or digital project in a library, museum, or other type of organization. Pass/no pass grading. Requires 60 hours of non-paid work or 75 hours of paid work for one semester unit.  Prerequisites: LIB 121 & LIB 122. 
Click here to review past intern sites; future intern sites may change.

Student Learning Outcomes - Students will be assessed on their ability to:

SLO 1 Demonstrate processes and best practice techniques 

For Digital Projects Sites
Demonstrate processes and best practice techniques for creating archival images
and/or
Demonstrate skill in creating complete metadata records following the best practices standards of the
institution
For Archives Sites
Demonstrate processes and best practice techniques for appraising, handling,
organizing,  preserving and/or describing archival materials.  
SLO 2. Describe and evaluate participation in a digital project or archives as a tool for learning and
potential employment

RECOMMENDED ELECTIVES

  • BIT 025 - SURVEY OF COMPUTER TECHNOLOGY IN BUSINESS (Offered online and on-campus, Fall, Winter,Spring, Summer)
    Course Description:
    Survey of Business information systems and technology, networking, e-commerce, ethics and security, systems hardware 
    and software components, and commonly used business software applications, including word processing, spreadsheets, graphics, and database management. Applications of these concepts and methods through hands-on projects developing computer-based solutions to business problems. (3.0 Units) 

Student Learning Outcomes - Students will be assessed on their ability to:

  1. Demonstrate an understanding of how networks of hardware, software, and communication technologies interact to create the foundation for productivity and efficiency in an organization or for an individual.
  2. Compare software to determine the most appropriate applications and tools to accomplish a task in an organizational setting or for personal use.
  3. Research and analyze how computer technology can solve problems in society and in the workplace.
  • LIB 105A Descriptive Cataloging (Offered in Spring) 

Course Description: 
Basic principles of descriptive cataloging with a focus on the tools and skills needed for copy cataloging using national standards and common bibliographic utilities. Includes an overview of the basic principles of subject classification and issues related to bibliographic and authority control in online catalogs. For students interested in working in library support staff roles, but open to all students

Student Learning Outcomes - Students will be assessed on their ability to:

  1. Demonstrate descriptive cataloging procedures by accurately analyzing and enhancing  Machine Readable Cataloging Records (MARC) in a bibliographic database.
  2. Critique issues related to the need for bibliographic and authority control in online catalogs.