Chronicles the rise and fall of cultures and societies across all continents and eras, from nearly 5,000 years ago to recent historical events. Includes primary sources, academic journals and other periodicals, biographies, reference and audio/video.
A combined search of a wide variety of ProQuest databases offering full text access to articles from academic journals, newspapers, magazines and other periodicals covering a variety of subject areas. Includes ProQuest Research Library, GenderWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, and many more databases.
Full text access to articles from academic journals, newspapers, magazines and other periodicals covering a variety of subject areas. Search results also include video news footage from the Associated Press, dating back to 1930.
With its authoritative reference entries, multiple introductory and perspective essays, primary source documents, detailed chronology, and bibliography, this single-volume reference provides all the key information readers need to understand this monumental conflict. * Includes perspective essays on such widely debated topics as what was the primary cause of World War I and whether the conflict made World War II inevitable * Supplies important primary source documents--such as the Balfour Declaration and the Zimmermann Telegram--that serve to put historical events into clearer context for students * Provides essential reference material for students, including entries on all the key events, people, and organizations, as well as a detailed chronology, key images, and maps
Powerful images and cross-referenced entries tell the story of World War I, with its bloody ground fighting, sea battles, air clashes, and main players. Maps and chronologies reveal the intricacies of every campaign, breaking down each nation's involvement: the advance on the Western front, Russians striving to defend their borders, the disaster at Gallipoli, and struggles in the Balkans, Turkey, Palestine, and East Africa. All the weapons--many then new--are here. Plus: important thematic issues, like women at war.