Speech 13 - Phu - Speech Communication Research Guide - Research Guides at Pasadena City College

Welcome SPCH 13 students!

Below are the slides shown during the Library Research workshops:

Suggested Databases & Ebooks

Great for persuasive speech topics:

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)

Articles about social issues. Includes opinion articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and full-text periodical articles from magazines and newspapers. PCC offers a brief video with instructions for using this database.
CQ Researcher
Articles covering controversial issues with summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
Global Issues (Gale in Context)
Mix of articles, reports, and summaries on issues of the 21st Century, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming.
SIRS Issues Researcher (ProQuest)
Mix of articles, reports, opinion pieces, and summaries on various social issues.

Great for rounding out your research:

ProQuest (combined)
Contains a mix of articles from academic journals, newspapers, magazines and other periodicals covering a variety of subject areas.
EBSCOhost (Combined)
Contains a mix of scholarly, magazine, and newspaper articles covering all disciplines. PCC offers a brief video with instructions for using this database.
US Major Dailies (ProQuest)
Contains newspaper articles from the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, and Washington Post. PCC offers a brief video with instructions for using this database.
Gale eBooks

Large collection of reference books providing background information on a variety of subjects. PCC offers a brief video with instructions for using this database.

Looking for more databases to choose from?
Check out PCC Library's full list of databases on the A-Z Database List page.

EBSCOhost (Combined)
Contains a mix of scholarly, magazine, and newspaper articles covering all disciplines. PCC offers a brief video with instructions for using this database.
JSTOR (including Artstor)
Contains scholarly journal articles, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Contains a mix of scholarly articles, news articles, videos, websites, and more. PCC offers a brief video with instructions for using this database.
ProQuest (combined)
Contains a mix of articles from academic journals, newspapers, magazines and other periodicals covering a variety of subject areas.
US Major Dailies (ProQuest)
Contains newspaper articles from the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, and Washington Post. PCC offers a brief video with instructions for using this database.

Looking for more databases to choose from?
Check out PCC Library's full list of databases on the A-Z Database List page.

Cooking Through History: A Worldwide Encyclopedia of Food with Menus and Recipes by Melanie Byrd (Editor); John P. Dunn (Editor)
Publication Date: 2020

From the prehistoric era to the present, food culture has helped to define civilizations. This reference surveys food culture and cooking from antiquity to the modern era, providing background information along with menus and recipes.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture by Solomon H. Katz (Editor); Jonathan Katz (Editor); William Woys Weaver (Editor)
Publication Date: 2002

This Dartmouth Medal-winning 3-volume set presents 600 articles on food and its place in human culture and society, covering everything from agronomy to zucchini.
Food and Drink in American History by Andrew F. Smith
Publication Date: 2013

This three-volume encyclopedia on the history of American food and beverages serves as an ideal companion resource for social studies and American history courses, covering topics ranging from early American Indian foods to mandatory nutrition information at fast food restaurants.
Food Cultures of Mexico by R. Hernandez-Rodriguez
Publication Date: 2021

This exciting volume brings to life the food culture of Mexico, detailing the development of the cuisine and providing practical information about ingredients and cooking techniques so that readers can replicate some of Mexico's most important traditional dishes.
L. A. Mexicano: Recipes, People & Places by Bill Esparza; Staci Valentine (Photographer); Gustavo Arellano (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2017

Richly photographed and authentically local, LA Mexicano showcases LA's famously rich and complex Mexican-food culture, including recipes; profiles of chefs, bakers, restaurateurs, and vendors; and neighborhood guides.
Ways of Eating: Exploring Food through History and Culture by Benjamin Aldes Wurgaft; Merry White
Publication Date: 2023

Ways of Eating introduces readers to world food history and food anthropology. Through engaging stories and historical deep dives, Wurgaft and White offer new ways to understand food in relation to its natural and cultural histories and the social rules that shape our meals.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be used to search for scholarly literature, including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Not all articles are available in full text, but users may adjust their settings so that Google Scholar displays which articles are available via their selected library.

Check out this brief video below to learn how to set up Google Scholar to connect you to those articles available via PCC Library.

APA Citations

Suggested APA resources:

PCC Library offers this APA Citation guide with further info and sample references
The "official" APA Style website has sample references
The OWL Purdue website has a sample paper written in APA (look for the "APA 7 Student Paper"; scroll to the end of the paper to see the References pages)

Citing a YouTube video:

See these examples on the "official" APA Style website.

Additional APA tips: