Research Guides: Speech Research Guide: Selecting a Topic

1. Select Your Topic. It's okay to browse!

Selecting a topic for your research paper or speech is one of the most difficult steps in the research process. Consider using these library databases to help you find a topic that interests you.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Articles about social issues. Includes opinion articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and full-text periodical articles from magazines and newspapers. PCC offers a brief video with instructions for using this database.
SIRS Issues Researcher (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher provides insight into the most-studied social issues by delivering the pros and cons from relevant, credible documents and graphics selected from over 2,000 global sources. Leading Issues pages provide a framework for understanding and analyzing over 360 complex social issues with overviews, essential questions, viewpoints, and editorially selected primary and secondary sources.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Articles covering controversial issues with summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more. (coverage since 1991)

Is your topic a famous person?

Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Search for biographies based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, gender, or other keywords.

2. Narrow it Down - Define the issue

Define the issue and identify your main concepts and keywords.

Ask yourself the "W" questions: who, what, where, when. If your topic is too broad, think of how it affects a certain group of people, or a certain part of the world. Or, consider a specific impact or effect of your topic. What makes it important? Focus in on that effect and how to respond to it, encourage it or prevent it!

Excelsior Online Writing Lab: Finding Topics
Strategies for finding and narrowing your topic.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Large collection of reference books providing background information on a variety of subjects. PCC offers a brief video with instructions for using this database.

Speech Research Guide

Off Campus Log In (Database Access)

1. Select Your Topic. It's okay to browse!

2. Narrow it Down - Define the issue

More Information on Selecting Topics