This is a small selection of journals. To dig deeper, click on the "Finding Articles" page of this guide and research further within the recommended databases.
Earth Science InformaticsPublishes original, interdisciplinary articles on all aspects of informatics dealing with the Earth system.
Earth, moon, and planetsEarth, Moon, and Planets, An International Journal of Solar System Science, publishes original contributions on subjects ranging from star and planet formation and the origin and evolution of the solar and extra-solar planetary systems, to asteroids, comets, meteoroids and near-Earth objects, including the terrestrial impact hazard and solar system - terrestrial relationships, and related topics concerning the physical and chemical properties of the material constitution of these bodies, including chaotic behavior.
Geological magazineGeological Magazine, established in 1864, is one of the oldest and best-known periodicals in the Earth Sciences. It publishes original papers, review articles, rapid communications and discussions about all aspects of the geosciences. It covers petrology, geochemistry, palaeontology, sedimentology, stratigraphy, structural geology, geophysics, and geomorphology, and it includes contributions on volcanology, marine geology, glaciology, palaeoclimatology, palaeoceanography, geochronology, biostratigraphy, geohazards and Earth history, providing a niche for interdisciplinary papers on regional geology and Earth history.
Journal of the Geological SocietyJGS publishes topical, high-quality recent research across the full range of Earth Sciences. Papers are interdisciplinary in nature and emphasize the development of an understanding of fundamental geological processes.
Featured Books and Ebooks
Earth's Surface and History by David K. Elliott; Salem Press StaffAvailable in print or as ebook.
This subset explores the land masses and seas of the world. It describes mountain ranges, the oceans, continental movement, and a wide variety of features that have influenced life on earth. Detailed explorations of the evolution of dinosaurs, fish, birds
Call Number: REF QE26.3 .E25 2012
Publication Date: eBook link available from catalog description page
Encyclopedia of the Solar System by Linda Versteeg-Buschman (Editor); Doris Breuer (Editor); Lucy-Ann McFadden (Editor); Torrence V. Johnson (Editor); Paul R. Weissman (Editor)Long before Galileo published his discoveries about Jupiter, lunar craters, and the Milky Way in the Starry Messenger in 1610, people were fascinated with the planets and stars around them. That interest continues today, and scientists are making new discoveries at an astounding rate. Ancient lake beds on Mars, robotic spacecraft missions, and new definitions of planets now dominate the news. How can you take it all in? Start with the new Encyclopedia of the Solar System, Second Edition. This self-contained reference follows the trail blazed by the bestselling first edition. It provides a framework for understanding the origin and evolution of the solar system, historical discoveries, and details about planetary bodies and how they interact-and has jumped light years ahead in terms of new information and visual impact. Offering more than 50% new material, the Encyclopedia includes the latest explorations and observations, hundreds of new color digital images and illustrations, and more than 1,000 pages. It stands alone as the definitive work in this field, and will serve as a modern messenger of scientific discovery and provide a look into the future of our solar system. · Forty-seven chapters from 75+ eminent authors review fundamental topics as well as new models, theories, and discussions · Each entry is detailed and scientifically rigorous, yet accessible to undergraduate students and amateur astronomers · More than 700 full-color digital images and diagrams from current space missions and observatories amplify the chapters · Thematic chapters provide up-to-date coverage, including a discussion on the new International Astronomical Union (IAU) vote on the definition of a planet · Information is easily accessible with numerous cross-references and a full glossary and index