Research Guides: Geology Research Guide: Books &amp; Ebooks

Featured Ebooks

Ancient Landscapes of Western North America: A Geologic History with Paleogeographic Maps by Blakey, Ronald C.; Ranney, Wayne D.
Maps and text that unfold the complex geologic history of the Western North American region.
Exploring Geoethics: Ethical Implications, Societal Contexts, and Professional Obligations of the Geosciences by Martin Bohle (editor)
This book explores the potential of geoethics, as designed within the operational criteria of addressing the deeds and values of the human agent as part of the Earth system.
The Earth's Heterogeneous Mantle: A Geophysical, Geodynamical, and Geochemical Perspective by Amir Khan; Frédéric Deschamps (editors)
This book highlights and discusses recent developments that have contributed to an improved understanding of observed mantle heterogeneities and their relation to the thermo-chemical state of Earth's mantle, which ultimately holds the key to unlocking the secrets of the evolution of our planet.
A Concise Dictionary of Paleontology by Carlton, Robert L.
This authored dictionary presents a unique glossary of paleontological terms, taxa, localities, and concepts, with focus on the most significant orders, genera, and species in terms of historical turning points such as mass extinctions.

Browse Geology ebooks by sub-discipline:

The following databases contain ebooks:

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Large collection of reference books providing background information on a variety of subjects. PCC offers a brief video with instructions for using this database.
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Ebooks from a broad range of subject areas and topics.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
eBooks from a broad range of subject areas and topics.
InfoSci-Books (IGI Global) This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of over 4,500 reference books, handbooks of research, and encyclopedias, covering a wide variety of subject areas.

Searching for books & ebooks can be done from the PCC Library homepage by following these steps:

On the PCC Library homepage, click on the Books tab
Enter your keywords for the topic you are researching (for example, catastrophism), and click Search
The page will display a list of results. By default, the results will include both print AND ebooks.
To view ebooks only, click on Available Online filter on the left hand side
To access ebooks:
- Click on an ebook's title
- Then, click on the link within the View Online section

[Screencast displays the steps in searching for an ebook, as described above]