Encyclopedia of Natural Hazards by
Few subjects have caught the attention of the entire world as much as those dealing with natural hazards. The first decade of this new millennium provides a litany of tragic examples of various hazards that turned into disasters affecting millions of individuals around the globe. The human losses (some 225,000 people) associated with the 2004 Indian Ocean earthquake and tsunami, the economic costs (approximately 200 billion USD) of the 2011 Tohoku Japan earthquake, tsunami and reactor event, and the collective social impacts of human tragedies experienced during Hurricane Katrina in 2005 all provide repetitive reminders that we humans are temporary guests occupying a very active and angry planet. Any examples may have been cited here to stress the point that natural events on Earth may, and often do, lead to disasters and catastrophes when humans place themselves into situations of high risk. Few subjects share the true interdisciplinary dependency that characterizes the field of natural hazards. From geology and geophysics to engineering and emergency response to social psychology and economics, the study of natural hazards draws input from an impressive suite of unique and previously independent specializations. Natural hazards provide a common platform to reduce disciplinary boundaries and facilitate a beneficial synergy in the provision of timely and useful information and action on this critical subject matter. As social norms change regarding the concept of acceptable risk and human migration leads to an explosion in the number of megacities, coastal over-crowding and unmanaged habitation in precarious environments such as mountainous slopes, the vulnerability of people and their susceptibility to natural hazards increases dramatically. Coupled with the concerns of changing climates, escalating recovery costs, a growing divergence between more developed and less developed countries, the subject of natural hazards remains on the forefront of issues that affect all people, nations, and environments all the time. This treatise provides a compendium of critical, timely and very detailed information and essential facts regarding the basic attributes of natural hazards and concomitant disasters. The Encyclopedia of Natural Hazards effectively captures and integrates contributions from an international portfolio of almost 300 specialists whose range of expertise addresses over 330 topics pertinent to the field of natural hazards. Disciplinary barriers are overcome in this comprehensive treatment of the subject matter. Clear illustrations and numerous color images enhance the primary aim to communicate and educate. The inclusion of a series of unique "classic case study" events interspersed throughout the volume provides tangible examples linking concepts, issues, outcomes and solutions. These case studies illustrate different but notable recent, historic and prehistoric events that have shaped the world as we now know it. They provide excellent focal points linking the remaining terms in the volume to the primary field of study. This Encyclopedia of Natural Hazards will remain a standard reference of choice for many years.
Encyclopedia of Hurricanes, Typhoons, and Cyclones by
The science, history, and culture of tropical cyclones around the globe have evolved considerably since the award-winning first edition of ""Encyclopedia of Hurricanes, Typhoons, and Cyclones"" was published nearly 10 years ago. Improved forecasting techniques, altered naming systems, and new intensity and duration records are only a few of the changes that have taken the meteorological world by storm in recent years. As a result of improvements in forecasting and warning systems, landfall and intensity predictions are much more accurate and timely, thereby reducing economic costs and enhancing life safety.""Encyclopedia of Hurricanes, Typhoons, and Cyclones, New Edition"" features significant updates and information on recent weather phenomena and the devastation and loss that often resulted. Hurricanes Andrew, Gilbert, and Wilma are covered in detail in this comprehensive reference, as well as the most destructive and deadly tropical cyclone witnessed in the United States in the last 50 years - Hurricane Katrina. As the historic and vibrant city of New Orleans continues to rebuild and reconstruct in the aftermath of this hurricane, national meteorological agencies and research institutions suffer from the deadly effects of under-funding and political neglect. Between 2005 and 2006, hurricane-related damage in the United States totaled $168 billion, and nearly 1,500 lives were lost - grim tallies that lend credence and urgency to the call for a centrally organized, multi-agency response to tropical cyclone activity in this country, and indeed, around the globe.Focusing on these issues and more, this completely revised edition features more than 85 all-new, black-and-white photographs and line illustrations, a revised introduction, historical and cultural entries, extensively revised front and back matter, a bibliography of print and Web resources, a chronology, and an index.
Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes by
Although many books on earthquakes and volcanoes have been published, this is the first in an A-to-Z format that offers a full overview of these two spectacular natural phenomena.
Natural Disasters by
Available in print or as book.
Each title in the highly acclaimed Opposing Viewpoints series explores a specific issue by placing expert opinions in a unique pro/con format; the viewpoints are selected from a wide range of highly respected and often hard-to-find publications.; This title explores various aspects of natural disaster including, what factors contribute to the frequency of natural disasters; controversies surrounding disaster relief efforts; the government's role in disaster relief; media coverage of natural disast; "Each volume in the Opposing Viewpoints Series could serve as a model...not only providing access to a wide diversity of opinions, but also stimulating readers to do further research for group discussion and individual interest. Both shrill and moderate, th