Research Guides: Dental Assisting, Hygiene and Laboratory Technology: Dental Hygiene

Welcome Dental Hygiene Students!

Welcome to the Library Research Session for Dental Hygiene!

On this page you will find resources for:

PCC Library services available to students
Using PCC Library databases
Citing sources in MLA

Library Services Overview

Here is what the PCC Library homepage looks like (below), with a few key resources highlighted, including: where to do a book & ebook search, where to get assistance from a librarian, and where to access the library databases.

Recommended Databases

Health, Nursing & Medicine Databases (EBSCOhost)
Includes Health Source: Consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, and MEDLINE. Covers medical sciences, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, nutrition, health, and wellness. Includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
Health & Medical Complete (ProQuest)
Full text journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more. Articles from newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Offering up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. Includes more than 2,500 academic journals and other periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
PubMed
PubMed features citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Looking for more databases to choose from?
Check out PCC Library's full list of databases on the A-Z Database List page!

Scholarly Article Example

Article: Associations between neighborhood social capital, oral health risk factors, and tooth decay among Medicaid-enrolled adolescents: A hypothesis-generating preliminary study.
Hill, Courtney M., et al. "Associations between neighborhood social capital, oral health risk factors, and tooth decay among Medicaid-enrolled adolescents: A hypothesis-generating preliminary study." PLoS ONE, vol. 20, no. 8, 13 Aug. 2025, p. e0329830. Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints, dx.doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0329830. Accessed 17 Oct. 2025.

Groups

Group 1: Abstract & Introduction

Group 2: Methods & Results

Group 3: Discussion

Group 4: Conclusion & References

Questions:

Q1. What is the role of your section in the scholarly journal article

Q2. Yes or No, If this was the first section you read of the article, without starting at the beginning... Are you able to understand what the article is about?

Recommended Journals

Available online to PCC students!

Need assistance getting to our online resources? Check out the library's Off-Campus Access page.

MLA Citations

The following slides describe how to create MLA references and format a Works Cited page:

Additional Resources:

PCC Library's MLA Quick Guide
"official" MLA Handbook, 9th Ed. (PCC Library has print and online copies)