Research Guides: Nursing Research Guide: Scholarly Articles

Recommended Databases for Nursing

The following databases contain scholarly/peer-reviewed articles, and more:

Health & Medical Complete (ProQuest)
Full text journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more. Articles from newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Health, Nursing & Medicine Databases (EBSCOhost)
Includes Consumer Health Complete, Health Source: Consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, and MEDLINE. Covers medical sciences, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, nutrition, health, and wellness.
You can choose to search just Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, or search multiple databases combined.
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile)
This collection's current and authoritative content will help nursing students, physician’s assistant students, and researchers in allied health fields who are looking for answers related to the specialized care, treatment, and management of all sorts of patients. Includes academic journal articles, news articles, and content from reference books.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Offering up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. Includes more than 2,500 academic journals and other periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.

PubMed features citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Looking for more databases to choose from?
Check out PCC Library's full list of databases on the A-Z Database List page.

Featured Journals

Find More Journals

Browse Nursing Journals

Browse a list of ALL nursing journals available through the PCC Library.

Search for Nursing Journals

Users may also search for specific journals using the library's Journals Search (useful for when you know the specific journal you're looking for) by following these steps:

From the Journals Search page, type in the name of your journal (for example, Online Journal of Issues in Nursing), and hit Enter
The page will display a list of results
To access a journal:
- Click on a journal's title
- Then, click on a link within the View Online section