The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by The titles cited below are only a representative sample of many specialized reference books that are available in the library and in the Music Lab/Library (Bldg V, Room 203).
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians by 
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by 
The Harvard Concise Dictionary of Music and Musicians by 
The Metropolitan Opera Stories of the Great Operas by Academic research is required for this class. Use the following online resources available through the library website to located articles and reference material for this class. A search in Google will not find the same results. Off-campus access requires a login.
JSTOR offers scholarly journal articles, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. PCC has access to JSTOR's Arts & Sciences I, II, III, V, VII, and XI collections, as well as JSTOR's Open Access eBook Collection. JSTOR also incorporates the thousands of searchable, high-quality Artstor images covering architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and more.
Discovering Tchaikovsky's Sixth Symphony is one example of the films available through the Films on Demand database. Use the Subject Catagory - music - to locate other films.
In this program, Charles Hazlewood addresses Tchaikovsky’s final work—and what many regard as his greatest achievement: Symphony no. 6 in B Minor (Pathétique), which premiered only days before his death. After conducting the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra in a complete performance of the monumental first movement, Charles Hazlewood thoroughly explicates each of that movement’s constituent parts: the introduction, the first and second themes, and the development, recapitulation, and final sections. Produced by the Open University. (58 minutes)
