Research Guides: Selecting Topics: Finding the Right Topic

Helpful Links

Cite Your Sources!

Citing Sources - PCC
PCC's guide to citation styles, and links to other helpful resources.

24/7 Live Research Help

1. Select Your Topic. Its okay to browse!

Selecting a topic for your research paper or speech is one of the most difficult steps in the research process. Consider using these Library databases to help you find a topic that interests you.

SIRS Issues Researcher (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher provides insight into the most-studied social issues by delivering the pros and cons from relevant, credible documents and graphics selected from over 2,000 global sources. Leading Issues pages provide a framework for understanding and analyzing over 360 complex social issues with overviews, essential questions, viewpoints, and editorially selected primary and secondary sources.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Focus is on social issues. Includes opinion articles, pro/con, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, full-text periodical articles and selected websites. Select from the list of popular topics or search the subject guide.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Focus on controversial issues with summaries, background, opinions, bibliographies and more. Use the Pro/Con, Browse by Topic or Issue Tracker on the left.

2. Define the Issue

Define the issue and identify your main concepts and keywords.
Brainstorm a list of synonyms, related words and phrases for your topic.

Paradigm Online Writing Assistant
From choosing a topic, to organizing, revising and stating your thesis, this site provides writers with guidelines and exercises to strengthen their essays and other papers.
Library Instruction: Before You Start (Univ. of Mississippi Libraries)
How do you start a research project? You have to choose a topic,
narrow your topic and come up with the key words you’ll need to
search for books and articles on your topic…and this is before you
even start research and writing!

This site links to some free online tools to help you through the
process. bubbl.us KwMap Google Wonder Wheel VisuWords
Excelsior Online Writing Lab: Finding Topics
Strategies for finding and narrowing your topic.

3. Broaden Your Knowledge

Learn more about your topic. Use these resources for background knowledge:

Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

Books about the Research Process

McGraw-Hill's Concise Guide to Writing Research Papers by Carol Ellison
Call Number: LB 2369 .E35 2010

Click on Advanced Search and select: Subject. You will find books like the one listed below that can help you with your research and writing.

Subject examples:

Report writing - Handbooks, manuals, etc.

Research - Handbooks, manuals, etc.