Basically, there are two kinds of reference books: general resources, which are broad in scope and deal with all fields; and specialized resources, which deal with specific disciplines such as political science. The titles cited below are only a representative sample of many specialized reference books that are available in the library. (Located on the Second Floor)
The Encyclopedia of Political Science by 
Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. History: Government and Politics
Encyclopedia of Presidential Campaigns, Slogans, Issues, and Platforms by 
Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right by 
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy by 
Encyclopedia of the United Nations by 
Safire's Political Dictionary by
When it comes to the vagaries of language in American politics, its uses and abuses, its absurdities and ever-shifting nuances, its power to confound, obscure, and occasionally to inspire, William Safire is the language maven we most readily turn to for clarity, guidance, and penetrating, sometimes lacerating, wit. Safire's Political Dictionary is a stem-to-stern updating and expansion of the Language of Politics, which was first published in 1968 and last revised in 1993, long before such terms as Hanging Chads, 9/11 and the War on Terror became part of our everyday vocabulary. Nearly every entry in that renowned work has been revised and updated and scores of completely new entries have been added to produce an indispensable guide to the political language being used and abused in America today. Safire's definitions--discursive, historically aware, and often anecdotal--bring a savvy perspective to our colorful political lingo. Indeed, a Safire definition often reads like a mini-essay in political history, and readers will come away not only with a fuller understanding of particular words but also a richer knowledge of how politics works, and fails to work, in America. From Axis of Evil, Blame Game, Bridge to Nowhere, Triangulation, and Compassionate Conservatism to Islamofascism, Netroots, Earmark, Wingnuts and Moonbats, Slam Dunk, Doughnut Hole, and many others, this language maven explains the origin of each term, how and by whom and for what purposes it has been used or twisted, as well as its perceived and real significance. For anyone who wants to cut through the verbal haze that surrounds so much of American political discourse, Safire's Political Dictionary offers a work of scholarship, wit, insiderhood and resolute bipartisanship.
Facts about the Presidents by
Wilson's acclaimed Facts About the Presidents continues with its much-anticipated Eighth Edition. Written for both general readers and researchers, this volume will be one of the most widely consulted works in your reference collection. The new Eighth Edi