Evidence found in newspaper, magazine and journal articles is more specific than background information and support your arguments. Scholarly (peer-reviewed) articles are often required for academic papers. These articles are found using subscription library databases.
The short list of databases on this page may be particularly useful for your assignment. A full list of our databases can be found here:
Articles about social issues. Includes opinion articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and full-text periodical articles from magazines and newspapers. PCC offers a brief video with instructions for using this database.
Large collection of reference books providing background information on a variety of subjects. PCC offers a brief video with instructions for using this database.
A combined search of a wide variety of EBSCOhost databases containing thousands of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering all disciplines. Includes scholarly journal articles. Includes Academic Search Premier, America: History and Life, science and medicine/health databases, psychology databases, and many more. PCC offers a brief video with instructions for using this database, and more advanced ways to improve your search,
A combined search of a wide variety of ProQuest databases offering full text access to articles from academic journals, newspapers, magazines and other periodicals covering a variety of subject areas. Includes ProQuest Research Library, GenderWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, and many more databases.
This link opens in a new window