Skip to main content

[!]Library services during the COVID-19 Campus Closure: see information for students and faculty.

PCC Library Logo

Encyclopedias

A basic introduction to using encyclopedias in the PCC Library collection. Both print and online encyclopedias are highlighted.

Using Encyclopedias for Research

Encyclopedias can be a good starting point for many research projects.  You can:

  • Familiarize yourself with a topic.
  • Find statistics, definitions or other fast facts.
  • Narrow or broaden the focus of your topic, making it a manageable project.
  • Find a list of other books, articles and Web sites that relate to your topic.
  • Find the important people, places, events, dates that are related to your topic.
  • Find new terms to use as keywords when searching article databases.

Below is a small sampling of the many encyclopedias available through the PCC Library.
Click on any title to be directed to the catalog record and location of that encyclopedia.

Using Encyclopedias for Research

Encyclopedias Online

The encyclopedias in book form are shelved in the reference section on the main floor of the library (2nd floor, South side). They can be used in the library, but are generally not available for check out. There are encyclopedias covering a large range of topics from A to Z, as well as subject encyclopedias, which focus on one subject area.

Below are listed encyclopedic databases. To access these databases from off-campus, use your LancerPoint username and password.