Philosophy : Mind by
The Macmillan Interdisciplinary Handbooks: Philosophy series serves undergraduate college students who have had little or no exposure to philosophy, as well as the curious lay reader. Following this first primer volume, which introduces both the discipline and the topics of the remaining nine volumes, each handbook will usher the reader into a subfield of philosophy (see list of titles below), and explore fifteen to thirty topics in that subfield. Every chapter in each volume will use vehicles such as film to facilitate understanding of philosophical issues; for example, the film Dead Man Walking may be used as an introduction to issues related to the death penalty.
World Mythology by
The Critical Survey of Mythology and Folklore series offers analytical articles and plot summaries of the major myths, fairy tales, and other traditional literature for studies in advanced high school and undergraduate classrooms. The Critical Survey of Mythology and Folklore presents articles on myths, folktales, legends, and other traditional literature. Drawing upon the most widely-read literature, this volume covers a diverse range of authors, countries, and cultures. Articles begin with a summary that offers readers the major actions and characters in the tale followed by an analysis of the important cultural and social interpretations of the author and myth. Myths in the volume are organised by regions of the world and cultures, such as Oceania, South East Asia, and Meso-America. In addition, twelve maps listing ancient cultures and charts on mythological figures will provide a broad overview of major deities in world mythology. Students, educators, and general readers will discover a broad critical and cultural survey that engages the contemporary imagination in the importance of myth, fairy tale, and other traditional literature.
New Encyclopedia of Islam by
The acclaimed New Encyclopedia of Islam has been completely revised, updated, and re-designed in a fresh larger-format, with more than 1,500 entries. The New Encyclopedia of Islam is unique as a single-volume work that encompasses the beliefs, practices, history, and culture of the Islamic world. The Economist described the first edition as "a miracle" for its readability; the Independent hailed "a magnificent achievement." The book is suitable for novices and scholars alike. In this expanded new edition, with an extensive chronology, Cyril Glasse provides a truly unrivaled study of one of the world's great religions.
Encyclopedia of Christianity in the United States by
From the Founding Fathers through the present, Christianity has exercised powerful influence in the United States--from its role in shaping politics and social institutions to its hand in inspiring art and culture. The Encyclopedia of Christianity in the United States outlines the myriad roles Christianity has played and continues to play. This masterful five-volume reference work includes biographies of major figures in the Christian church in the United States, influential religious documents and Supreme Court decisions, and information on theology and theologians, denominations, faith-based organizations, immigration, art--from decorative arts and film to music and literature--evangelism and crusades, the significant role of women, racial issues, civil religion, and more. The first volume opens with introductory essays that provide snapshots of Christianity in the U.S. from pre-colonial times to the present, as well as a statistical profile and a timeline of key dates and events. Entries are organized from A to Z. The final volume closes with essays exploring impressions of Christianity in the United States from other faiths and other parts of the world, as well as a select yet comprehensive bibliography. Appendices help readers locate entries by thematic section and author, and a comprehensive index further aids navigation.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical Interpretation by
The two-volume Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical Interpretation (OEBI) will fill a crucial need in the field of biblical studies by providing detailed, comprehensive treatments of the latest approaches to and methods for interpretation of the Bible written by expert practitioners. It willprovide a single source for authoritative reference overviews of scholarship on some of the most important topics of study in the field of biblical studies. As with all high quality reference works, it provides a solid foundation that students and scholars can use to orientate themselves beforeventuring into original research. The Encyclopedia will contain nearly 120 entries, ranging in length from 3,000 to 5,000 words. It will be organized in an A-to-Z format. Each entry will be signed, contain a bibliography for further reading, and will be cross-referenced to other useful points of interest within the Encyclopedia. Itwill also feature a topical outline of contents and an extensive index.
Asian American Culture : From Anime to Tiger Moms by
Providing comprehensive coverage of a variety of Asian American cultural forms, including folk tradition, literature, religion, education, politics, sports, and popular culture, this two-volume work is an ideal resource for students and general readers that reveals the historical, regional, and ethnic diversity within specific traditions. * Provides readers with a broad understanding of the variety and commonalities in Asian American culture, enabling a fuller comprehension of Asian American history, experience, and cultural expressions * Offers comprehensive, in-depth, and accessibly written coverage that addresses a wide variety of Asian American cultural forms such as folk tradition, literature, religion, education, politics, sports, and popular culture * Highlights differences among Asian American cultures and identifies important achievements through biographies of key figures as well as spotlights on historical events, legal cases, and significant artifacts in sidebars * Presents sources for more information on the subjects discussed with Further Readings for each entry
The Twenty First Century Art Book by
An accessible A-Z guide to best contemporary art made since 2000
Critical Survey of Graphic Novels : Heroes & Superheroes by
Available in print or as an ebook.
The first title in this series, Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: Heroes and Superheroes, provides in-depth insight into over 130 of the most popular and studied graphic novels. Researchers will be familiar with the characters and stories included in thi
85 Years of the Oscar by
A deluxe, year-by-year chronicle of the Academy Awards, with an entertaining text, hundreds of star-studded photographs, and complete lists of the nominees and winners. 85 Years of the Oscar, newly revised and expanded, is the official history of the Academy Awards. Following an introductory chapter on the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and the birth of the Oscars, the book presents the story of each year's awards, beginning with the very first, for the years 1927-28. Author Robert Osborne surveys the movies in competition, recounts the speculation on various winners, and describes events during the awards ceremony. He also provides a complete listing of the all the nominees and winners in every category. Each year is illustrated with evocative stills from winning films and candid shots from the awards ceremony. Altogether, the book features more than 750 rare photographs, including original movie posters for every best picture. Drawing on Osborne's profound knowledge of film, the Academy's exceptional archives, and the personal reminiscences of stars from Katharine Hepburn to Clint Eastwood, 85 Years of the Oscar is unrivaled in illustration, accuracy, and completeness.
Psychology and Behavioral Health by
Includes Online Database with Print Purchase. This newly updated set covers not only the history of the field and the core aspects of behaviourism, cognitive psychology, and psychoanalytic psychology but also diagnoses, disorders, treatments, tests, notable people, and issues, including many popular concepts. Essays address how culture, ethnicity, and gender affect psychological theory and beliefs. They cover topics such as multicultural psychology and the effect of culture on diagnosis, and other important and developing issues in psychology.
Economics by
A comprehensive four-volume resource that explains more than 800 topics within the foundations of economics, macroeconomics, microeconomics, and global economics, all presented in an easy-to-read format. * Provides readers with a comprehensive one-stop reference source on the subject of economics that serves as an easy-to-read "textbook" * Presents more than 800 entries in four books that address economics foundations, macroeconomics, microeconomics, and global economics as well as a glossary and a documents section * Spotlights the concepts, movements, events, people, organizations, places, and objects relevant to the study of economics at the macro, micro, and global levels * Includes excerpts from key court and legislative documents that influenced the U.S. economy
Revolts, Protests, Demonstrations, and Rebellions in American History by
This three-volume work traces the history of revolts and rebellions from the colonial era to the 20th century. * 71 chronologically arranged entries detail the revolts and uprisings that have shaped the history of the United States, with 2–5 subentries that drill down into those histories * Each entry includes an overview essay, followed by entries on related people, groups, organizations, ideas, and places, along with select primary sources * Contributions come from a distinguished group of American historians from across the nation and across historical disciplines * One volume is comprised entirely of primary source documents * Illustrations and photographs show events discussed
The International Encyclopedia of Human Sexuality by
This Encyclopedia is a comprehensive A-Z reference with over 500 entries that define sexuality from a broad biocultural perspective and show the diversity of human sexual behavior and belief systems. * Contains entries ranging from short definitions of scientific, clinical, cultural, and colloquial terms to extended explorations of major concepts * Covers 13 key areas of content, from clinical medicine and body modification to the language of sexuality and the history of sexology * Serves as an essential resource for students, scholars, and researchers with contributions from an international team of top scholars and practitioners 3 Volumes www.encyclopediaofhumansexuality.com
Women's Rights in the United States by
A comprehensive encyclopedia tracing the history of the women's rights movement in the United States from the American Revolution to the present day. * Offers informed, critical insights and perspectives from editor Tiffany K. Wayne; advising editor Lois Banner, noted author, professor, historian, and feminist; and expert contributors * Comprises more than 800 entries in four volumes on the people, organizations, events, legislation, and primary documents impacting gender relations in the United States * Supplies valuable content for librarians' events and programming for Women's History Month each March * Provides listings of U.S. court cases regarding women's rights chronologically organized by major time periods * Aligns with high school and college curricula in offering the experiences of American women * Includes coverage of current and ongoing issues related to women's civil and political equality in the 21st century
Latinos and Criminal Justice by
This unique compilation of essays and entries provides critical insights into the Latino/a experience with the U.S. criminal justice system. * Topical essays that provide context to major contemporary issues, such as immigrants and crime, drugs, youth, U.S.-Mexico border crime, policing, and prisons * Shorter, A-Z entries on a wide range of additional topics * Extensive bibliographies identifying further readings in the subject area
Crime and Punishment in America by
Covering some of the most hotly contested topics in crime and criminal justice, including proposed sentencing and prison reforms, controversial developments like Stand Your Ground laws, and Supreme Court decisions, this work supplies essential background, current data, and a range of viewpoints on these important issues. * Provides readers with a thorough analysis of the most controversial topics in criminal justice that includes contributions from renowned scholars, activists, victim service providers, and other experts * Addresses current trends and problems in America's criminal justice system * Includes tables, graphs, and charts tracking the most important developments related to crime, sentencing, and the prison system
Guide to U. S. Elections by
*As mentioned in The Washington Post!The CQ Press Guide to U.S. Elections, Seventh Edition is a comprehensive, two-volume reference providing information on the U.S. electoral process, in-depth analysis on specific political eras and issues, and everything in between. Thoroughly revised and infused with new data, analysis, and discussion of issues relating to elections through 2015, the Guide will include chapters on: Analysis of the campaigns for presidency, from the primaries through the general election Data on the candidates, winners/losers, and election returns Details on congressional and gubernatorial contests from the primaries through the general elections supplemented with vast historical data Coverage of campaign finance, as well as reapportionment and redistricting Key Features include: Tables, boxes and figures interspersed throughout each chapter Data on campaigns, election methods, and results Complete lists of House and Senate leaders Links to election-related websites A guide to party abbreviations This reference will be available in time for readers to gain an understanding of various aspects of elections as we enter the 2016 presidential campaign season.
Encyclopedia of Energy by
4 vols. Clicking the title of this book leads to the e-book version.
Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology by
The Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology (ESST) addresses the grand challenge for science and engineering today. It provides unprecedented, peer-reviewed coverage in more than 550 separate entries comprising 38 topical sections. ESST establishes a foundation for the many sustainability and policy evaluations being performed in institutions worldwide. An indispensable resource for scientists and engineers in developing new technologies and for applying existing technologies to sustainability, the Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology is presented at the university and professional level needed for scientists, engineers, and their students to support real progress in sustainability science and technology. Although the emphasis is on science and technology rather than policy, the Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology is also a comprehensive and authoritative resource for policy makers who want to understand the scope of research and development and how these bottom-up innovations map on to the sustainability challenge.
Universe by
From the fiery mass of the Sun's core to the black hole at the center of the Milky Way, Universe takes you on the ultimate guided tour of the cosmos. Full of stunning out-of-this world images reflecting recent advances in space imagery, you'll go on a journey from our solar system all the way to the farthest limits of space. With information on the nature of the universe, the study of cosmology, Earth's motion, modern telescopes, astrophotography, and even a comprehensive star atlas, this groundbreaking encyclopedia takes a dazzling and expansive look at the Universe and is a must-have for both students and astronomy enthusiasts. Includes a comprehensive star atlas that covers all the constellations and planetary charts showing their positions right up to 2019, with entries on each of the 88 constellations and notable celestial objects that lie within them, and a monthly sky guide showing the night sky as it appears throughout the year.
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change by
The First Edition of the Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change provided a multi-authored, academic, yet non-technical resource for students and teachers to understand the importance of global warming, to appreciate the effects of human activity and greenhouse gases around the world, and to learn the history of climate change and the research enterprise examining it. This edition was well received, with notable reviews. Since its publication, the debate over the advent of global warming at least partially brought on by human enterprise has continued to ebb and flow, depending literally on the weather, politics, and media coverage of climate summits and debates. Advances in research also change the discourse as new data is collected and new scientific projects continue to explore and explain global warming and climate change. Thus, a new, Second Edition updates more than half of the original entries and adds new perspectives and content to keep students and researchers up-to-date in a field that has proven provocatively lively.
Earth Science by
Available in print or as ebook.
Earth Science comprises 487 lengthy essays on basic topics in geology, geophysics, atmospheric sciences, oceanography, environmental science, paleontology and planetology.
Volumes located in library's Reference area:
Earth Science: QE 26.3 .E25 2012 v.1-2
Earth's Weather, Water and Atmosphere: QC 863 .E27 2013 v.1-2
Earth Materials and Resources: TN 260 .E25 2013 v.1-2
Physics and Chemistry of the Earth: QE 26.3 .E27 2012 v.1-2
The Encyclopedia of Volcanoes by
Volcanoes are unquestionably one of the most spectacular and awe-inspiring features of the physical world. Our paradoxical fascination with them stems from their majestic beauty and powerful, sometimes deadly, destructiveness. Notwithstanding the tremendous advances in volcanology since ancient times, some of the mystery surrounding volcanic eruptions remains today. The Encyclopedia of Volcanoes summarizes our present knowledge of volcanoes; it provides a comprehensive source of information on the causes of volcanic eruptions and both the destructive and beneficial effects. The early chapters focus on the science of volcanism (melting of source rocks, ascent of magma, eruption processes, extraterrestrial volcanism, etc.). Later chapters discuss human interface with volcanoes, including the history of volcanology, geothermal energy resources, interaction with the oceans and atmosphere, health aspects of volcanism, mitigation of volcanic disasters, post-eruption ecology, and the impact of eruptions on organismal biodiversity. Provides the only comprehensive reference work to cover all aspects of volcanology Written by nearly 100 world experts in volcanology Explores an integrated transition from the physical process of eruptions through hazards and risk, to the social face of volcanism, with an emphasis on how volcanoes have influenced and shaped society Presents hundreds of color photographs, maps, charts and illustrations making this an aesthetically appealing reference Glossary of 3,000 key terms with definitions of all key vocabulary items in the field is included
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity by
Biodiversity and ecology are founded in evolutionary science. In order to understand why species of organisms occupy different parts of the world, it is important to comprehend how they evolved. Encyclopedia of Biodiversity examines this evolutionary framework with the help of more than 150 cross-referenced entries and five essays averaging at least 2,000 words each. High school teachers can use these entries—grouped by topic—to meet many of the science education goals established by the National Academy of Sciences. Written by a leading expert in the field, this comprehensive, full-color encyclopedia makes information about groups of organisms (from bacteria to mammals) and about ecological concepts and processes (such as biogeography and ecological succession) clearly and readily available to students and the general public. Tables at the end of each entry have a consistent structure, allowing readers to see how environmental conditions and biodiversity have changed through evolutionary time. Entries include: Acid rain and fog Biodiversity in the Jurassic period Darwin's finches Galápagos Islands Peter and Rosemary Grant Life in bogs Natural selection Population genetics Seedless plants Tropical rainforests and deforestation Alfred Russel Wallace.
National Geographic Complete Birds of North America by
Essential, comprehensive, and easy to use, the revised edition of National Geographic Complete Birds of North Americais an astonishing resource that covers every bird species found in North America as well as all the seasonal visitors. Entries are organized by family group, the taxonomic organization newly updated to match current American Ornithologists' Union guidelines. Within a family, each separate bird entry has dozens of tips and illustrations on species' gender, age group, behavior, habitat, nesting and feeding habits, and migration routes. Providing full information on more than 1,000 species, this book features hundreds of range and migration maps, cutting-edge information on identification, and more than 4000 annotated illustrations by expert bird artists.
The Encyclopedia of the Heart and Heart Disease by
Each year, more than half a million people die from heart disease. Not only is it the leading cause of death in the United States, it is also a major cause of disability. The American Heart Association estimates that more than 80 million people in the United States suffer from some form of cardiovascular disease, such as angina, heart attack, high blood pressure, or stroke. The Encyclopedia of the Heart and Heart Disease, Second Edition examines the function of the heart and the cardiovascular system and the major diseases and disorders that impact their health. This revised book discusses how to recognize the signs and symptoms of heart disease and how heart disease is diagnosed and treated. The causes and factors that contribute to heart disease are explained as well as preventive measures and steps to live a heart-healthy lifestyle. Appendixes include a directory of organizations and resources and diagrams of the heart and cardiovascular system. Key topics include: Aging and cardiovascular disease Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) Coronary artery disease Deaths from heart disease Emergency cardiovascular care (ECC) Emotions and heart disease Exercise Lifestyle factors and heart health Medications, surgery, and other treatments Stroke.
Nutrition: Science, Issues, and Applications by
This thorough one-stop resource draws on solid science and the latest research to play a dual educational role--providing background for students while answering general readers' questions about a wide range of nutrition-related topics. * Provides accessible essays on today's most relevant nutrition topics * Meets health education goals as represented by high school health education standards * Includes up-to-date scientific information on contemporary issues * Takes a holistic perspective, encompassing the physiological, biochemical, psychological, and societal elements of human nutrition * Suggests interesting "research issues" students may wish to explore and offers ideas for further reading