Evidence found in newspaper, magazine and journal articles is more specific than background information and support your arguments. Scholarly (peer-reviewed) articles are often required for academic papers. These articles are found using subscription library databases.
The short list of databases on this page may be particularly useful for your assignment. A full list of our databases can be found here:
Collection of digital images covering many time periods and cultures. These images can be used for teaching and study in a wide range of subject areas, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design.
Artstor's full collection is now incorporated into the JSTOR platform. Learn more about this change and how your Artstor image groups have been moved into JSTOR.
JSTOR offers scholarly journal articles, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. PCC has access to JSTOR's Arts & Sciences I, II, III, V, VII, and XI collections, as well as JSTOR's Open Access eBook Collection. JSTOR also incorporates the thousands of searchable, high-quality Artstor images covering architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and more.
A combined search of a wide variety of ProQuest databases offering full text access to articles from academic journals, newspapers, magazines and other periodicals covering a variety of subject areas. Includes ProQuest Research Library, GenderWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, and many more databases.
This link opens in a new windowDo you know what a peer-reviewed journal article is? The videos below discuss the difference between "popular" non-scholarly periodicals (including newspapers and magazines) and scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
Also, check out these links about popular vs. scholarly sources: