Research Guides: Boone Sculpture Garden: The Artists

Introduction

The works cited in this LibGuide are located in a variety of places in the library and online. Locations:

Library Archives: Materials in the Archives are available by appointment. Email archives@pasadena.edu.
Book stacks: Reference books are located on the main floor of the library. The Circulating collection is on the main floor and upper level.
Databases: Databases are freely accessible on campus. Off-campus access requires a login with LancerPoint User ID and password. ProQuest and Biography in Context are available from our Database list (linked below), or click on the blue links provided in each citation.
PCC Courier Online: The Courier is our campus newspaper.
The Open Web.

Database List (all databases)
A list of all databases available through the PCC Library. Can be viewed as an alphabetical list or sorted by subject and type of content.

Deborah Butterfield

Deborah Butterfield by Robert Gordon; Deborah Butterfield; John Yau (Contribution by); Vicki Hearne (Contribution by); Jane Smiley (Contribution by)
Call Number: 730.92 B 2
The first major monograph devoted to Butterfield's career includes sculptures executed while she was at the university in California, the colorful works made from found and beaten metal, and the later patinated bronze horses executed from a tremendous variety of wood and wooden frames.

Baker, Kenneth. “The Horse is a Source of Sculptural Inventiveness for Deborah Butterfield.” San Francisco Chronicle 10 Apr. 2004: E 12. Print. (Archives)

"Deborah Butterfield". Contemporary Women Artists. St. James Press, 1999. Biography in Context. Web.

"Deborah Butterfield Explains Philosophy Behind Prone Horses". YouTube. 8 July 2007. Web.

"Otis Visiting Artist: Deborah Butterfield." YouTube. 17 July 2009. Web.

Smiley, Jane. “Horse Sense.” Southwest Art Aug. 2003: 116. Print. (Archives)

Tucker, Marsha. “Equestrian Mysteries.” Art in America June 1989: 154+ Print.

Ken Price

Dreishspoon, Douglas. “Ken Price.” Art in America May 2010: 147. Print. (Periodicals section on the main floor).

Stillman, Nick. "The Blobs Aren't Talking. Arts and Leisure Desk Ken Price's Art Works." The New York Times 7 Mar. 2010: 25. Biography In Context. Web.

Stillman, Nick. "Ken Price: Matthew Marks Gallery. Sculpture Exhibition." Artforum International Jan 2007: 249. Biography In Context. Web.

Turvey, Lisa. “Ken Price.” Artforum Summer 2010: 346. Biography in Context. Web.

Wei, Lilly. “Ken Price.” Artnews Dec. 2006: 146. Print.

Jack Zajac

Twenty Years of the Pasadena City College Artist-in-Residence Program by Haynes, et al.
Call Number: 709.794 P 3

Artist in Residence Scrapbook (Library Archives)

"Artist of the Week 2: Jack Zajac." 26 Feb. 2007. YouTube. Web.

"Jack Zajac." J. Paul Getty Museum. n.d. Web.

Zajac, Jack. Jack Zajac: Retrospective Exhibition. 730.92 Z 1 (Third floor)

Stephan Balkenhol

Kuspit, Donald. “Stephan Balkenhol.” Artforum Sept. 1997: 122. Print. (Periodicals shelves, main floor)

Ollman, Leah. “Art Reviews; Sculptor’s Wooden Characters Give Little Away.” Los Angeles Times, 19 Mar. 1999: 29. ProQuest Central. Web.

Robinson, Joan Seeman. “Stephan Balkenhol.” Artforum Jan. 2001: 142. Academic Search Premier. Web.

"Stephan Balkenhol." Contemporary Artists 5th ed. St. James Press, 2001. Biography In Context. Web.

Jodi Pinto

“Art Oasis to Blossom on Campus: New York Artist Designs Million Dollar Sculpture Garden for PCC.” Colleague Jan. 1996: 3. Print. (Library Archives)

Calkins, Meg. “Drawing With Light.” Landscape Architecture Apr. 2000. (Library Archives – Biography Binder)

Hamalian, Arda. “$1 Million Sculpture Garden To Be Built Next Year.” PCC Courier 16 Nov. 1995. Print. (Library Archives)

Muchnic, Suzanne. “Art Notes: Sculpting a Garden of Scholarly Delight.” Los Angeles Times 24 Dec. 1995: 64. ProQuest Central. Web.

“PCC Dedicates Privately Funded Sculpture Garden.” Pasadena Star News 30 April 1999. Print. (Library Archives)

Resume (Library Archives. Biography Binder.) Includes listing of awards/grants, public works, solo exhibitions.

Williams, Janette. “Ex-Parking Lot Now a Student Gathering Place.” A1+ (Library Archives)

Yutaka Sone

Cotter, Holland. “Yutaka Sone.” New York Times 24 Sept. 2009: E 2. Biography in Context. Web.

Yood, James. “Yutaka Sone.” Artforum May 2006: 295. Biography in Context. Web.

Avery, John. "New Sculpture Provokes Discussion." PCC Courier. 12 Nov. 2008 Web.
Seemingly overnight, a new, bright-green sculpture by Yutaka Sone has sprouted on campus. Planted firmly in cement on the grassy bank between the U building and artist Jody Pinto's running stream, Sone's giant "Baby Banana Tree" is the latest acquisition for PCC's sculpture garden. Like some of its neighbors, the new piece appears destined to provoke discussion. It's not easy to ignore a colorful steel-and-fiberglass sculpture that is 25 feet tall, with patterned leaves spreading out nearly as wide...