Research Guides: Religious Studies: Finding Articles

Databases

To access databases from the main library page, look for Browse Research Databases.

JSTOR (including Artstor) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers scholarly journal articles, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. PCC has access to JSTOR's Arts & Sciences I, II, III, V, VII, and XI collections, as well as JSTOR's Open Access eBook Collection. JSTOR also incorporates the thousands of searchable, high-quality Artstor images covering architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A broad search for scholarly literature, including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Not all articles are available in full text. Before using Google Scholar, see this brief video to learn how to set it up to connect you to articles available via PCC.

Popular vs. Scholarly Sources

Do you know what a peer-reviewed journal article is? The videos below discuss the difference between "popular" non-scholarly periodicals (including newspapers and magazines) and scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.

Also, check out these links about popular vs. scholarly sources:

Popular Magazine or Scholarly Journal. What's the difference?
Anatomy of a Scholarly Journal Article
From NCSU Libraries

Films on Demand

This film Faith and Reason is one example of the videos available for viewing through the Films on Demand database.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Over 48,000 full length programs and more than 329,000 segments on a wide variety of educational subjects. Most are closed captioned.

Religious Studies

Off Campus Log In (Database Access)

Why Use a Database?

Databases

Popular vs. Scholarly Sources

Films on Demand