You can access our online resources from off-campus using your LancerPoint username and password! See more off-campus access information and troubleshooting tips:
Dictionary of Gods and Goddesses by 
Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible by 
A Dictionary of Buddhism by 
Oxford Dictionary of Islam by Reference resources help you choose, explore and develop your topic! Reference sources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries contain overviews and background information. Basically, there are two kinds of reference books: general resources, which are broad in scope and deal with all fields; and specialized resources, which deal with specific disciplines such as religious studies. The titles cited below are only a representative sample of many specialized reference books that are available in the library.
Encyclopaedia Judaica by 
Encyclopedia of Native American Religions by 
Encyclopedia of Religion by 
New Encyclopedia of Islam by 
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Theology by 
The Eerdmans Analytical Concordance to the Revised Standard Version of the Bible
How to Be a Perfect Stranger: the Essential Religious Etiquette Handbook by 
The Essential Bible Guide : Bible Background with Maps, Charts, and Lists by 
Women in Scripture by 
The Routledge Atlas of Jewish History by
'An unusual and compelling insight into Jewish history... sheer detail and breadth of scale' BBC History Magazine This newly revised and updated edition of Martin Gilbert's Atlas of Jewish History spans over four thousand years of history in 154 maps, presenting a vivid picture of a fascinating people and the trials and tribulations which have haunted their story. The themes covered include: Prejudice and Violence- from the destruction of Jewish independence between 722 and 586 BC to the flight from German persecution in the 1930s. Also covers the incidence of anti-semitic attacks in the Americas and Europe. Migrations and Movements- from the entry into the promised land to Jewish migration in the twenty- first century, including new maps on recent emigration to Israel from Europe and worldwide. Society, Trade and Culture- from Jewish trade routes between 800 and 900 to the situation of world Jewry in the opening years of the twenty- first century. Politics, Government and War- from the Court Jews of the fifteenth century to the founding and growth of the modern State of Israel. This new edition is also updated to include maps showing Jewish museums in the United States and Canada, and Europe, as well as American conservation efforts abroad. Other topics covered in this revised edition include Jewish educational outreach projects in various parts of the world, and Jews living under Muslim rule. Forty years on from its first publication, this book is still an indispensible guide to Jewish history.
The Atlas of Religion by
The world's religions have emerged as one of the greatest geopolitical forces now shaping our lives. Now available in an updated edition, this authoritative atlas is an essential resource for understanding the powerful role of religion around the globe. In an accessible text packed with information, it maps the current nature, extent, and influence of each of the major religions and shows, country by country, how religions are spread through broadcasting, missionary work, schooling, and banking; how they relate to government, laws, and world hunger; and the role they play in wars. It traces the emergence of new religious movements, the survival of traditional beliefs, and the presence of atheism and agnosticism. The Atlas of Religion also locates the origin, the heartland, and the sacred places of each of the major religions and provides essential background with a valuable table showing the fundamental beliefs of Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, Sikhism, and Taoism. Copub: Myriad Editions Limited
New Atlas of the Arab World by
The first up-to-date, handy reference atlas covering all twenty-two countries of the Arab League, with maps, demographic, cultural, and political informationThe Arab world, covering a large part of northern Africa and southwestern Asia, comprises the twenty-two countries of the League of Arab States, from Morocco in the west to Oman in the east, from Syria in the north to Comoros in the south. This new atlas, compiled using information from the latestsatellite imagery, contains detailed maps of the entire region, showing physical features, political boundaries, towns, and communication networks. In addition, each of the twenty-two countries is the subject of an illustrated essay, with notes and the latest statistics on the geography, population,history and politics, and economy of the country.The countries covered are: Algeria, Bahrain, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Em
