Required Sources for the Division Essay
For the Division Essay, you will need at least 4 sources.
These must include:
- The course textbook (Essentials of Communication Sciences and Disorders by Paul T. Fogle)
- American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) Practice Portal
- Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) or other medical encyclopedia
- one other source, which must be from a professional publication
Recommended Databases
Library databases are searchable online collections of sources. They contain all kinds of articles, including magazine, newspaper and scholarly journal articles. They also include encyclopedia entries. The three databases listed here should provide you with the sources you need for the Division Essay.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Large collection of reference books providing background information on a variety of subjects. PCC offers a brief video with instructions for using this database.
- Health & Medical Complete (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowFull text journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more. Articles from newspapers, magazines and scholarly journals of the ethnic and minority press.
- Health, Nursing & Medicine Databases (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowIncludes Consumer Health Complete, Health Source: Consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, and MEDLINE. Covers medical sciences, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, nutrition, health, and wellness. Includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
Citing Your Sources in MLA Format
For the Division Essay, you will cite your sources using MLA format. If you're not sure how to do so, watch this video workshop from PCC Library. You will learn how to create in-text citations as well as a Works Cited list.
MLA Citations - additional resources
- Sample Works Cited listExample of correctly formatted Works Cited list in MLA 8 and 9 format.
- Hanging IndentsHow to format a hanging indent in MS Word and Google Docs - use the hanging indent to make sure your Works Cited page looks right!
24/7 Live Research Help
Need Additional Help?
For research questions/class assignments, get in touch with a Reference Librarian the following ways:
- Consultation - we offer phone and videoconference (Zoom) consultations by appointment!
- Phone - leave a message for the PCC librarians, and we'll call you back: (626) 585-7360
- IM/Chat - use the chat box above, available 24/7!
- Email - send us a message at librarian@pasadena.edu and we'll respond within 24 hours on weekdays.
For questions about your library account, checked out items, and renewals, email us or leave a message with the Circulation Desk at (626) 585-7174.