HUM 001 - Goldsmith - Humanities Research Guide - Research Guides at Pasadena City College

Welcome HUM 001 students!

Welcome to your online research guide! This guide will help you:

Here are the slides shown during the in-person library research session:

Consider the following as you brainstorm:

Browse these sample topic lists:

The Opposing Viewpoints database provides this Browse Issues list of contemporary Issues
The Pew Research Center provides this list of Research Topics that they conduct research on

These websites contain image collections:

Library of Congress
Contains photographs, maps, letters, diaries, newspapers, and more from the Library of Congress collections. Also includes historic sound and film recordings.
Smithsonian Learning Lab
Contains millions of images, recordings, and texts from the Smithsonian collections.
Calisphere
Contains more than one million primary sources such as photographs, documents, newspapers, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, and other cultural artifacts focused on the diverse history and culture of California.
Archive.org
The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Over 4.4 million images

These library databases contain images:

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Collection of digital images covering many time periods and cultures in a wide range of subject areas, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Contains a mix of resources including images and articles related to social issues. After performing a keyword search, use the "Images" filter to view just the image results. PCC offers a brief video with instructions for using this database.

These library databases are great for gathering background information on a topic:

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Large collection of online encyclopedia books providing background information on a variety of subjects. PCC offers a brief video with instructions for using this database.

These library databases contain text-based resources:

US Major Dailies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles from the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, and Washington Post. PCC offers a brief video with instructions for using this database.
JSTOR (including Artstor) This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly journal articles, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. (JSTOR also incorporates the thousands of searchable, high-quality Artstor images covering architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and more.)

These library databases contain streaming videos:

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Contains over 48,000 full length programs and more than 329,000 segments on a wide variety of educational subjects. Most are closed captioned.
Academic Video Online: AVON (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 70,000 videos including documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage.