ENVS 2 - Stevens - Environmental Studies Research Guide - Research Guides at Pasadena City College

Welcome ENVS 2 students!

Below are the slides shown during the Library Research workshop.

Suggested Library Databases - Quick Links

ProQuest (combined) This link opens in a new window
A combined search of a wide variety of ProQuest databases offering full text access to articles from academic journals, newspapers, magazines and other periodicals covering a variety of subject areas.
Environmental Studies (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Contains content in areas of the environment, energy, and natural resources. Navigate by issue, organization or country to find news, background information, video, unique commentaries, primary source documents and statistics.
GreenFILE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Provides approximately 612,000 citations from open access scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. Full text available for more than 9,100 records.

Looking for more databases to choose from?
Check out PCC Library's full list of databases on the A-Z Database List page.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be used to search for scholarly literature, including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Not all articles are available in full text, but users may adjust their settings so that Google Scholar displays which articles are available via their selected library.

Check out this brief video below to learn how to set up Google Scholar to connect you to articles available via PCC Library.

MLA Citations

MLA Citations tutorial:

Additional MLA resources:

MLA Style Quick Guide from PCC
Includes guidelines and examples of MLA citations.
MLA Formatting and Style Guide from OWL Purdue
Examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and Works Cited pages.