Call Number: Shatford Library Second Floor TL263 .S36 2018
Publication Date: 2017-05-18
Automotive Automatic Transmission and Transaxles, published as part of the CDX Master Automotive Technician Series, provides students with an in-depth introduction to diagnosing, repairing, and rebuilding transmissions of all types. Utilizing a "strategy-based diagnostics" approach, this book helps students master technical trouble-shooting in order to address the problem correctly on the first attempt. * Outcome focused with clear objectives, assessments, and seamless coordination with task sheets * Introduces transmission design and operation, electronic controls, torque converters, gears and shafts, reaction and friction units, and manufacturer types * Equips students with tried-and-true techniques for use with complex shop problems * Combines the latest technology for computer-controlled transmissions with traditional skills for hydraulic transmissions * Filled with pictures and illustrations that aid comprehension, as well as real-world examples that put theory into practice * Offers instructors an intuitive, methodical course structure and helpful support tools With complete coverage of this specialized topic, this book prepares students for MAST certification and the full range of transmission problems they will encounter afterward as a technician. About CDX Master Automotive Technician Series Organized around the principles of outcome-based education, CDX offers a uniquely flexible and in-depth program which aligns learning and assessments into one cohesive and adaptable learning system. Used in conjunction with CDX MAST Online, CDX prepares students for professional success with media-rich integrated solutions. The CDX Automotive MAST Series will cover all eight areas of ASE certification.
Call Number: Shatford Library Second Floor TL269 .H35 2017
Publication Date: 2016-01-05
This book is part of the Pearson Automotive Professional Technician Series This book is part of the Pearson Automotive Professional Technician Series, which provides full-color, media-integrated solutions for today's students and instructors covering all eight areas of ASE certification, plus additional titles covering common courses. Peer reviewed for technical accuracy, the series and the books in it represent the future of automotive textbooks. This title is designed to be a one-semester text and covers the fundamental ASE/NATEF designated topic of Automotive Brake Systems (A5), as well as the advanced brake system topics taught in all schools and colleges. Prepare tomorrow's automotive professionals for success. Automotive Brake Systems, 7/e covers every electrical and electronic brake component found on vehicles today, as well as the practical skills that students must master to be successful in the industry. Written by a service technician and an automotive instructor--not a technical writer--and fully up to date with the latest electrical and electronic brake systems devices and systems used since 2005, the text is revered as the best available text on the subject. Formatted to appeal to today's technical trade students, Halderman's text uses helpful tips and visuals to bring concepts to life and guide students through the procedures they'll use on the job. To keep your course current, all of the content is correlated to the latest NATEF tasks and ASE areas for Automotive Brake Systems (A5), and new or updated information is included on such topics as brake friction materials, qualifying a brake lathe, the GM regular production code (RPO), ceramic brake pads and environmental concerns of copper in brake friction material, the BCM control of the red brake warning light, and brake line corrosion reduction coating.
Call Number: Shatford Library Second Floor TL152 .G5795 2018
Publication Date: 2017-07-11
Automotive Engine Repair, published as part of the CDX Master Automotive Technician Series, provides students with the technical background, diagnostic strategies, and repair procedures they need to successfully repair engines in the shop. Focused on a "strategy-based diagnostics" approach, this book helps students master diagnosis in order to properly resolve the customer concern on the first attempt.
Call Number: Shatford Library Second Floor TL220 .A53 2010
Publication Date: 2010-03-16
This illustrated history chronicles electric and hybrid cars from the late 19th century to today's fuel cell and plug-in automobiles. It describes the politics, technology, marketing strategies, and environmental issues that have impacted electric and hybrid cars' research and development. The important marketing shift from a "woman's car" to "going green" is discussed. Milestone projects and technologies such as early batteries, hydrogen and bio-mass fuel cells, the upsurge of hybrid vehicles, and the various regulations and market forces that have shaped the industry are also covered.
Call Number: Shatford Library Second Floor TL23 .I54 2012
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
From Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Paul Ingrassia comes a narrative of America like no other: a cultural history that explores how cars have both propelled and reflected the national experience--from the Model T to the Prius. A narrative like no other: a cultural history that explores how cars have both propelled and reflected the American experience-- from the Model T to the Prius. From the assembly lines of Henry Ford to the open roads of Route 66, from the lore of Jack Kerouac to the sex appeal of the Hot Rod, America's history is a vehicular history--an idea brought brilliantly to life in this major work by Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Paul Ingrassia. Ingrassia offers a wondrous epic in fifteen automobiles, including the Corvette, the Beetle, and the Chevy Corvair, as well as the personalities and tales behind them: Robert McNamara's unlikely role in Lee Iacocca's Mustang, John Z. DeLorean's Pontiac GTO , Henry Ford's Model T, as well as Honda's Accord, the BMW 3 Series, and the Jeep, among others. Through these cars and these characters, Ingrassia shows how the car has expressed the particularly American tension between the lure of freedom and the obligations of utility. He also takes us through the rise of American manufacturing, the suburbanization of the country, the birth of the hippie and the yuppie, the emancipation of women, and many more fateful episodes and eras, including the car's unintended consequences: trial lawyers, energy crises, and urban sprawl. Narrative history of the highest caliber, Engines of Change is an entirely edifying new way to look at the American story.
Call Number: Shatford Library Second FloorTL15 .P37 2014
Publication Date: 2014-05-13
The Life of the Automobile is the first comprehensive world history of the car. The automobile has arguably shaped the modern era more profoundly than any other human invention, and author Steven Parissien examines the impact, development, and significance of the automobile over its turbulent and colorful 130-year history. Readers learn the grand and turbulent history of the motor car, from its earliest appearance in the 1880s--as little more than a powered quadricycle--and the innovations of the early pioneer carmakers. The author examines the advances of the interwarera, the Golden Age of the 1950s, and the iconic years of the 1960s to the decades of doubt and uncertainty following the oil crisis of 1973, the global mergers of the 1990s, the bailouts of the early twenty-first century, and the emergence of the electric car. This is not just a story of horsepower and performance but a tale of extraordinary people: of intuitive carmakers such as Karl Benz, Sir Henry Royce, Giovanni Agnelli (Fiat), André Citroën, and Louis Renault; of exceptionally gifted designers such as the eccentric, Ohio-born Chris Bangle (BMW); and of visionary industrialists such as Henry Ford, Ferdinand Porsche (the Volkswagen Beetle), and Gene Bordinat (the Ford Mustang), among numerous other game changers. Above all, this comprehensive history demonstrates how the epic story of the car mirrors the history of the modern era, from the brave hopes and soaring ambitions of the early twentieth century to the cynicism and ecological concerns of a century later. Bringing to life the flamboyant entrepreneurs, shrewd businessmen, and gifted engineers that worked behind the scenes to bring us horsepower and performance,The Life of the Automobile is a globe-spanning account of the auto industry that is sure to rev the engines of entrepreneurs and gearheads alike.
Search books, articles and more: the PCC Library Catalog
A single search box covers our catalog of books and DVDs, as well as a large number of the periodical articles in our collection. You can search All, or you can use the tabs above the search box to narrow your search to Articles or Books.