Article Databases
The subscription databases listed below are recommended for students of literature.
Click the Tutorials for Specialized Databases tab for tips on utilizing the search features of each database.
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new windowLiterature criticism and biographies of thousands of authors. Includes resources from Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowFull text access to articles from academic journals, newspapers, magazines and other periodicals covering a variety of subject areas. Search results also include video news footage from the Associated Press, dating back to 1930.
- ProQuest (combined) This link opens in a new window
A combined search of a wide variety of ProQuest databases offering full text access to articles from academic journals, newspapers, magazines and other periodicals covering a variety of subject areas. Includes ProQuest Research Library, GenderWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, and many more databases.
- JSTOR (including Artstor) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers scholarly journal articles, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. PCC has access to JSTOR's Arts & Sciences I, II, III, V, VII, and XI collections, as well as JSTOR's Open Access eBook Collection. JSTOR also incorporates the thousands of searchable, high-quality Artstor images covering architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and more.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A broad search for scholarly literature, including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Not all articles are available in full text. Before using Google Scholar, see this brief video to learn how to set it up to connect you to articles available via PCC.
- Database List (all databases)A list of all databases available through the PCC Library. Can be viewed as an alphabetical list or sorted by subject and type of content.
Popular vs. Scholarly Sources
Do you know what a peer-reviewed journal article is? The videos below discuss the difference between "popular" non-scholarly periodicals (including newspapers and magazines) and scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
Also, check out these links about popular vs. scholarly sources: