Research Guides: Marketing Research Guide: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Evidence found in newspaper, magazine and journal articles is more specific than background information and support your arguments. Scholarly (peer-reviewed) articles are often required for academic papers. These articles are found using subscription library databases.

The short list of databases on this page may be particularly useful for your assignment. A full list of our databases can be found here:

Database List (all databases)
A list of all databases available through the PCC Library. Can be viewed as an alphabetical list or sorted by subject and type of content.

Recommended Databases for Marketing

Business Source Elite (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This business database provides full text for over 1,110 business publications. The rich collection of titles in Business Source Elite provides information dating back to 1985. More than 10,150 substantial company profiles from Datamonitor are also included.
Business Databases (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Articles covering business, banking and finance, economics, accounting and management. Includes scholarly journals, articles from newspapers, magazines and trade journals, and briefings and reports.
US Major Dailies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles from the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, and Washington Post. PCC offers a brief video with instructions for using this database.
News Sources (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Combines Business Source Elite, Military & Government Collection, Newspaper Source Plus, and Regional Business News.
APA PsycARTICLES plus Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A combined search of APA PsycARTICLES and Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection; covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Includes empirical research studies.
SIRS Issues Researcher (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
SIRS Issues Researcher provides insight into the most-studied social issues by delivering the pros and cons from relevant, credible documents and graphics selected from over 2,000 global sources. Leading Issues pages provide a framework for understanding and analyzing over 360 complex social issues with overviews, essential questions, viewpoints, and editorially selected primary and secondary sources.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A broad search for scholarly literature, including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Not all articles are available in full text. Before using Google Scholar, see this brief video to learn how to set it up to connect you to articles available via PCC.

Popular vs. Scholarly Sources

Do you know what a peer-reviewed journal article is? The videos below discuss the difference between "popular" non-scholarly periodicals (including newspapers and magazines) and scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.

Also, check out these links about popular vs. scholarly sources:

Popular Magazine or Scholarly Journal. What's the difference?
Anatomy of a Scholarly Journal Article
From NCSU Libraries

Marketing Research Guide

Off Campus Log In (Database Access)

Why Use a Database?

Finding Articles

Recommended Databases for Marketing

Popular vs. Scholarly Sources