Research Guides: Primary Sources: Databases with Primary Source Content

Database Overview

Each database listed on the right includes one or more type of primary source material.

The description of each database includes information about the type of primary source material included and how to limit your search.

Finding Books: Search Tips

To look for primary sources in the Library Catalog (Box at the bottom of this page)...

Try to combine topic, keyword or a person's name with any of the following: autobiography, personal narrative, letters, correspondence, diaries, memoirs or sources.
Author search/ AU: to find materials someone has written.
Advanced Search: Try a word or two representing your topic on one line. On the second line type: "primary sources" and select "Subject" for the field.

Other Guides to Finding Primary Sources

PCC Library Databases

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
Searchable e-book collection of monographs, critical studies, annotated primary sources, and essays, ranging from the 1880s through the present. Topics covered include History, Animal Studies, Archaeology, Art and Architectural History, Biblical Studies, Bibliographic Studies, Economic History, Environmental Studies, Film and Media Studies, Folklore, Hip Hop Studies, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Law, LGBT/Queer Studies, Linguistics, Literature, Literary Criticism, Medicine, Methods/Theory, Musicology, Native Peoples of the Americas, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Science/Technology, Sociology, Women’s Studies, Theater, Music and Dance.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Works of art, photography, furniture, etc. are also considered primary sources.
Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
This primary source collection covers African American history, culture and daily life from before the American Revolution up to modern times—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent. The content in this database is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Within each report, use the left menu to select maps/graphs and the bibliography which often contains links to reports, studies and other primary sources.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
After entering your search words, use the left menu to select document type (legislation, speech, etc)
Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Focuses on broad issues of the 21st Century, such as war, genocide, terrorism, human rights, poverty, famine, globalization, world trade, nuclear proliferation, and global warming, as well as more specific events and topics in the news that are related to these broader issues. Includes news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more.
Hispanic Life in America This link opens in a new window
This primary source collection covers Hispanic American history, culture and daily life from the early Spanish settlements up to modern times—as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of Hispanic descent. The content in this database is sourced from more than 17,000 American and global news sources, including over 700 Spanish language or bilingual publications.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Features national, regional and local news content from more than 3,650 sources, including The Pasadena Sun, Pasadena Star-News, and The Daily News of Los Angeles.
News Sources (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Combines Business Source Elite, Military & Government Collection, Newspaper Source Plus, and Regional Business News.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Articles about social issues. Includes opinion articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and full-text periodical articles from magazines and newspapers. PCC offers a brief video with instructions for using this database.
Salem History This link opens in a new window
Within the search results, select the primary source tab (in blue, across the top)
U.S. History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Select Primary Sources above the search box or within the search results as a category. Find legislation, speeches, government documents, letters, memoirs and other primary source material.
US Major Dailies (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Use the advanced search options or the right side menu within a search to limit by document type - interview, speech, letter, etc.
World History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Chronicles the rise and fall of cultures and societies across all continents and eras, from nearly 5,000 years ago to recent historical events. Includes primary sources, academic journals and other periodicals, biographies, reference and audio/video.

Search books, articles and more: the PCC Library Catalog

A single search box covers our catalog of books and DVDs, as well as a large number of the periodical articles in our collection. You can search All, or you can use the tabs above the search box to narrow your search to Articles or Books.

Start your search here!

Advanced Search Off Campus Access