Research Guides: Popular Magazine or Scholarly Journal?: Locating Scholarly Journals

Article Databases

All of these databases contain articles from scholarly journals, but on some you have to indicate your preference.

Access from off-campus requires authentication (PCC email address and password).

Off-Campus Access Information

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Articles from academic journals, newspapers, trade publications and magazines covering a range of subject areas.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Full text access to articles from academic journals, newspapers, magazines and other periodicals covering a variety of subject areas. Search results also include video news footage from the Associated Press, dating back to 1930.
Arts & Humanities Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal, magazine, and trade journal articles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theater and Cultural Studies.
JSTOR (including Artstor) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers scholarly journal articles, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. PCC has access to JSTOR's Arts & Sciences I, II, III, V, VII, and XI collections, as well as JSTOR's Open Access eBook Collection. JSTOR also incorporates the thousands of searchable, high-quality Artstor images covering architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and more.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Literature criticism and biographies of thousands of authors. Includes resources from Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
ProQuest (combined) This link opens in a new window
A combined search of a wide variety of ProQuest databases offering full text access to articles from academic journals, newspapers, magazines and other periodicals covering a variety of subject areas. Includes ProQuest Research Library, GenderWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, and many more databases.
APA PsycARTICLES plus Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A combined search of APA PsycARTICLES and Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection; covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Includes empirical research studies.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles, downloadable eBooks, and encyclopedias covering science, technology, engineering, math, the social sciences and humanities.
U.S. History (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Balanced coverage of both current thoughts on events in U.S. history as well as scholarly work in the field. Sources include academic journals and other periodicals.

Database List (all databases)
A list of all databases available through the PCC Library. Can be viewed as an alphabetical list or sorted by subject and type of content.