Art History Research Guide

6,000 years in the history of African art, highlighting archetypal and iconic works from various regions and important historic periods. 400 objects are beautifully reproduced in full color. This immense artistic and historic fresco highlights the beauty and force of these works from regions now comprising Nigeria, Benin, the Congo, Gabon, Guinea, the Ivory Coast, Mali, and Sudan. The book also examines the influence of African art on 20th-century Western masters such as Picasso, Modigliani, and Brancusi.

This comprehensive work considers the arts of Africa as art history, rather than as expressions of anthropological and societal impulses and traditions. The result is to animate the study of African art, showing how it has changed over the years.

Examines the lives and works of African American artists from the eighteenth century to the present, with biographical and critical text and illustrated examples of their work.

Discusses African American folk art, decorative art, photography, and fine arts.

Part I India 1 The Dawn: The Indus Valley Civilization 2 Buddhism 3 The Early Dynasties: Maurya and Kushan, Early Buddhist Art 4 The Elaboration of Maha-yana in India 5 The India Trade: Its Effects in Europe and Asia 6 The Hindu Revival: The Decline of Buddhism 7 The Moslem Conquest of India: The Mogul Dynasty (Sixteenth to Eighteenth Century) 8 North Indian Painting: South Indian Temples 9 Modern Art in India Part II China 10 The Yellow River Valley 11 The Bronze Age in China 12 The Qin and Han Dynasties (221 B.C-220 A.D.) 13 The Buddhist Impact on China: The Six Dynasties and Northern Wei (A.D. Third to Sixth Century) 14 India-China Contacts Renewed and Intensified 15 The Chan Reformation of Buddhism 16 The Song Dynasty (960-1279) 17 The Mongol Conquest: The Yuan Dynasty (1280-1368) 18 The Ming (1368-1644) and Qing (1644-1911) Dynasties 19 Modern Art in China Part III Japan 20 Most Ancient Japan: The Jomon and Yayoi Periods 21 Most Ancient Japan: The Jomon Period 22 Buddhism Reaches Japan 23 Chinese Culture Transplanted to Japan: International Buddhism Nara Adopts Tang Culture 24 Ritual Magic and Esthetics: Modification of Indian Buddhism 25 Japan Under Military Rule: The Kamakara (A.D. 1185-1333) and Ashikaga Period (A.D. 1336- 1573) 26 The Momoyama and Edo 27 Modern Art in Japan--The Meiji, Taisho, and Showa Periods Selected Bibliography Index

Covers the art of Egypt, Sumer, Mesopotamia, Anatolia, Assyria, Babylon, and Persia.

This text offers an overview of the art and architecture of the Indian subcontinent.

A selection of works of art representing masterpieces of the sacred and court traditions as well as their urban, folk, and tribal heritage.

An illustrated examination of the art and archaeology of Korea from the prehistoric period through the twentieth century.

Examines the most significant developments in the history of Korean art, from the Neolithic period to the nineteenth century. Attention is given to the political, social, and cultural conditions that led to the creation of the works of art, in particular the Korean peninsula's external relationships and interchanges with China on the continental mainland to the north and west and with the Japanese archipelago to the south.

Taking into account all the arts practiced in China, and drawing on recent innovative scholarship, this rich text examines the production and consumption of art in its appropriate contexts. From art found in tombs to the state-controlled art of the Mao Zedong era, Art in China offers a novel look and comprehensive examination of all aspects of Chinese art.

This book puts China's recent artistic output into the context of the wider cultural, economic, and political conditions that surround it. It views China's recent artistic output in the context of the wider cultural, economic, and political conditions that surround it. Tthe book also discusses contemporary art made by artists from Taiwan and Hong Kong-Macau, as well others belonging to diasporic Chinese communities.

Dive into the PCC Library catalog for books under the subject heading Art, Chinese

Explores the ceramics, sculpture, paintings, and furniture of Japan while explaining the historical influences of each period.

Focusing on ten elements of Japanese design, Graham explores how visual qualities, the cultural parameters, and the Japanese religious traditions of Buddhism and Shinto have impacted the appearance of its arts.

This book not only reproduces more than 200 of Kahlo's paintings from every genre, including landscape and still life as well as the self-portraits, but also shows how the drama of her life informed her art.

An interpretive history of Mexican art and architecture from the Spanish Conquest to the early decades of the twenty-first century.

Surveys the history of the arts in Mexico, discussing architecture, painting and sculpture, the performing arts, the literary arts, and Mexican folk art.

Chicano artists have made a unique contribution to public art in California, transforming thousands of walls into colorful artworks that express the dreams, achievements, aspirations, and cultural identity of the Mexican-American community. Signs From the Heart tells the inside story of this new and important American art form in four interpretive essays by noted Chicano scholars about its historical, artistic, and educational significance.

Covers Chicana/o art from its beginnings in the 1960s, its relationship to the Chicana/o Movement and its leading artists, themes, current directions, and cultural impacts. Includes paintings, prints, murals, altars, sculptures, and photographs - and the artists who created them.

This book traces art in the Latin American region from pre-Columbian times to the year 2000.

Discusses major subjects and issues such as Magic Realism, Expressionism and other concepts shared with Latin American literature; the great muralists Diego Rivera, David Alfaro Siqueiros and Jose Clemente Orozc; the interaction of politics, society and art; the continuing interest in folk art; and the dialogue between avant-garde European and North American movements and indigenist thinking in the styles of artists such as Wifredo Lam, Rufino Tamayo and Frida Kahlo.

Deals with all aspects of Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Africa to Central, South, and East Asia and includes entries on artists, rulers, writers, ceramics, sculpture, metalwork, painting, calligraphy, textiles, and more.

Wijdan Ali offers a historical survey of the development of modern painting in the Islamic world from the 19th century to the present. She provides background on dominant artistic traditions before 1900 as well as an evaluation of the loss of traditional aesthetics under the impress of Western culture. Ali also explores the persistence and reemergence of calligraphic art as an expression of national artistic identity, and hers is the first book to consider in depth the modern calligraphic school.

More than four hundred reproductions of treasures of Islamic art that span the world: from southern Europe, along the entire Mediterranean basin to sub-Saharan Africa through the Middle East, India, and Central Asia. Arranged geographically, the objects include paintings, miniatures, ceramics, calligraphy, textiles, carpets, and metal works. Each region is given a thorough introduction that offers historical context and extensive descriptions of its artifacts. Accompanying essays offer guidance in interpreting the many themes that tie these works together, including typology, calligraphy, and religious beliefs.

A guide to the major developments that shaped the environment from the first Americans to the present, from the everyday vernacular to the high style of aspiration. Eleven chronologically organized chapters chart the social, cultural, and political forces that shaped the growth and development of American towns, cities, and suburbs, while providing full description, analysis, and interpretation of buildings and their architects.

The compelling history of the world's great architectural achievements. Organized along a global timeline, A Global History of Architecture, Second Edition has been updated and revised throughout to reflect current scholarship. Spanning from 3,500 b.c.e. to the present, this unique guide is written by an all-star team of architectural experts in their fields who emphasize the connections, contrasts, and influences of architectural movements throughout history. The architectural history of the world comes to life through a unified framework for interpreting and understanding architecture, supplemented by rich drawings from the renowned Frank Ching, as well as brilliant photographs.

This beautifully illustrated book is a comprehensive overview of developments in the world of sculpture from the 1950s through the first decade of the 21st century.

Roman sculpture was an integral part of Roman life, and the Romans placed statues and reliefs in their flora, basilicas, temples and public baths as well as in their houses, villas, gardens and tombs.

A stunning collection of 164 photographic plates of African masks, votive figures, metalwork, carvings, with introduction. Ashanti, Yoruba, Benin, more.

This book affirms the significance of drawing as visual thinking in western art from the 15th century to the present. Scrutinizing a wide range of drawings, the author confirms a long historical commitment to the primal importance of sketching in generating ideas and problem solving, examines the production of autonomous drawings as gifts or for pleasure, and traces the importance of the life-class and theories of drawing in the training of artists until well into the 20th century.

A comprehensive reference of visual and narrative material that illustrates and evaluates the unique and important history surrounding graphic design and architecture. Closely examines the relationship between typography, image, symbolism, and the built environment by exploring principal themes, major technological developments, important manufacturers, and pioneering designers over the last 100 years.

"Fashion" is the ultimate visual guide to everything ever worn. From the extravagance of Ancient Egypt, through the legendary fashion houses of Chanel and Dior, to the latest cutting-edge labels, this collection of costume and dress shows how fashion reflects people and places, and captures the times in which they lived.

This 2nd edition of the history of graphic design explores its evolution from the late nineteenth century to the present day. Organized chronologically, the book illuminates the dynamic relationship between design and manufacturing, as well as the influence of technology, social change, and commercial forces on the course of design history. The layout of each chapter reflects the style of the period it describes, and more than 550 illustrations throughout the volume provide a visual record of over one hundred years of creative achievement in the field. This edition includes a new chapter on nineteenth-century design, and expanded sections on Swiss Style, Postmodernism, and contemporary design.

A chronicle of well over a century of illustration, covering the so-called Golden Age to the current Bronze Age. This book celebrates illustration as a significant popular art that is often more visible, recognizable, and memorable than "higher arts."

An in-depth analysis of the works of 110 of the world's most important artists from the early renaissance to the present. Over 400 color illustrations show how each developed their own style and techniques.

Understanding Paintings stresses the enormous breadth of Western art, with chapters on religious painting, myth and allegory, the nude, history painting, portraiture, landscape, genre (or everyday life painting), still life, and abstract painting.