Research Guides: Music Reference Resources: Music Reference

Search Google Books

Use this box to search the text of Millions of books from libraries and publishers worldwide.

Google Scholar Search

Use this box to search scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.

Internet Music Reference Resources

The following online music resources should help you to find the reference material you are looking for!

Some resources require you to follow the link from the PCC Library subscription page. Off Campus access will require a campus Network ID login.

Online Music Dictionary
A comprehensive searchable music dictionary

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Music Online Web site is another PCC subscription based service that gives us access to the following premier music reference materials: The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Grove Music Encyclopedia Online and the Oxford Companion of Music.
Follow the link from the PCC Library subscription page. Off Campus access will require a campus Network ID login.

PCC Music Appreciation Reference Guide
Suitable for all music students this reference guide highlights music resources at PCC that are the most effective standard references for music students, in print and online. It is a good place for you to start as you begin studying music at PCC.

JSTOR (including Artstor) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers scholarly journal articles, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. PCC has access to JSTOR's Arts & Sciences I, II, III, V, VII, and XI collections, as well as JSTOR's Open Access eBook Collection. JSTOR also incorporates the thousands of searchable, high-quality Artstor images covering architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and more.

Films on Demand database
Over 45,000 full length programs and more than 330,000 segments on a wide variety of educational subjects. Over 14,000 videos in the "Music and Dance" category area.
Art Song Central
Art Song Central is principally an archive and directory of free, printable sheet music for singers and voice teachers. An emphasis is placed on standard classical and traditional repertoire.
The Internet Broadway Database
The IBDB archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information, providing records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today. Details include statistics, dates, cast, crew and creative staff credits, roles and related facts.
Opera Glass
Includes libretti, source texts, performance histories, synopses and discographies, pictures and background information, plus links to composers; also commemoration calendars, special features, and pointers to other opera information sites.
The Aria Database
The Aria Database is a diverse collection of information on over 1200 operatic arias;includes translations and aria texts of most arias as well as a collection of MIDI files of operatic arias and ensembles
Instrument Encyclopedia
Classical Music Net, Reviews and Information
Classical Net features more than 9000 pages and 20,000+ images including more than 6000 CD, SACD, DVD, Blu-ray and Book reviews and over 5500 links to other classical music web sites.
American Music Resource
The American Music Resource (AMR) provides a multi-dimensional source of reference information about all styles of music indigenous to the Western Hemisphere. It is intended to serve efficiently and quickly: text-only. The collection houses over 800 bibliographies, lists and files
Music Business Resources
A long list of online Music Business resources relating to Copyright, publishing, Contacts, magazines, news, performance rights organizations, taxes, sampling rights, personal finance etc.
All Music Guide
The allmusic website was created in 1995 as a place for music fans to indulge their passion. Whether you're visiting allmusic to look up an out-of-print recording, to get our take on a new release, or simply to explore the world of music and see where it may lead, you've come to the right spot.
Guide to Medieval and Renaissance Instruments
Study.com - Courses
Study.com has a number of well designed music theory and history instructional videos.

Music/Lab Instructor

Zac Matthews

Email Me

Contact:

626-585-7590