Skip to main content
Library Services During COVID-19 Closure
For Students >      For Faculty >
PCC Library Logo

Physical Science

This library guide will help you find information related to Physical Science.

Scientific Method

Watch these videos to learn about the scientific method, which includes developing a hypothesis and forming conclusions.  Click on the arrows to access the next videos or on the dots below.  

Scientific Method Defined

Define the Problem

Hypothesis

Experiments and Observations

Analyze and Communicate Data (Conclusion)

Suggested Databases

GVRL

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

Large collection of reference books on a variety of subjects.  This is a great starting point to gain background information on a range of topics. 

Springer

SpringerLink

Scholarly articles, downloadable eBooks, and encyclopedias covering science, technology, engineering, math, the social sciences and humanities.

Salem Scence

Principles of Biology and Principles of Physical Science

These resources introduce students and researchers to the fundamentals of biology and physical science using easy-to-understand language, giving readers a solid start and deeper understanding and appreciation of this complex subject.

 

ProQuest Science and Technology

Science & Technology (ProQuest)

Articles on science and technology topics from scholarly journals, trade journals, magazines and newspapers.  This searches a collection of science databases run by Proquest.  

EBSCO Science Full Text

Science Full Text Select (EBSCOhost)

Full text science database that covers over 400 journals in a broad range of science topics. Includes scholarly journal articles.

Science in Context

Science in Context (Gale)

Authoritative information covering all major science topics. Integrates content from encyclopedias and other reference works, as well as topic overviews, biographies, articles from academic journals and other periodicals, images and videos, detailed experiments from Experiment Central, biographies, and dictionaries.

Topic Starters

Image of synonyms and definition of essential oilYou click on the image to the right to make it larger.

Definition for essential oil: a volatile oil having the odor or flavor of the plan from which it comes; used in perfume and flavorings.  Listed synonyms: balsam, essense, extract, volatile oil, patchouli, perfume. (From: Synonyms for ESSENTIAL OIL - Thesaurus.net)

 

Below is a sample ebook from the library's catalog.

When brainstorming out "self-driving cars", you may need to think about a few alternate words and terms.  "Autonomous cars" is perhaps another term that you will want to consider.

Are there other terms or concepts that you can think of?  Think about people, organizations, locations (states, nations).

 

Below is a sample ebook from the library's catalog.

 

Nutrition synonyms. Words listed include subsistence, gorceries, dish, cooking, meal, menu.  Visit Thesaurus.net for additional words.(Image from: Synonyms for NUTRITION - Thesaurus.net)

When brainstorming out "athletes and best diets", you may need to think about a few alternate words and terms.  "Nutrition" is perhaps another term that you will want to consider.  You can click on the image on the right to make it larger.

Are there other terms or concepts that you can think of?  Think about people, organizations.  

 

Below is a sample ebook from the library's catalog.

When brainstorming out "the safest way to give birth", you may need to think about a few alternate words/phrases and terms.  "Labor", "induced labor", "delivery"  are perhaps alternate terms that you will want to consider.

Are there other terms or concepts that you can think of?  

Below is a sample ebook from the library's catalog.

When brainstorming out "human survival on mars", you may need to think about a few alternate words and terms.  "Habitable" is perhaps another term that you will want to consider.

Are there other terms or concepts that you can think of?  

Below is a sample ebook from the library's catalog.