Skip to main content
Library Services During COVID-19 Closure
For Students >      For Faculty >
PCC Library Logo

English as a Second Language Research Guide

Resources for students in English as a Second Language (ESL) courses at Pasadena City College

ESL 122

A Guide to support your Poster Presentation Projects


Objectives

After reviewing the resources in this guide, you will:

  • Identify a resource from an encyclopedia in Gale Ebooks.

  • Identify a relevant ebook in Proquest Ebook Central for you project.

  • Find an image for your project.

 

Resources

Gale Ebooks

ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Gale Ebooks: ESL Collection


Gale Ebooks provides you access to Encyclopedias, and there's a special ESL collection for you to access for this assignment. The video below will explain how to access this specific collection of resources. After watching the video, access the database. 
To watch the next video, click on the arrow to the right of the video.
 

Ebook Central

DATABASE
Ebook Central


ProQuest Ebook Central will connect you to a wide range of ebooks. The video below will describe how to use the database to find relevant resources for this project. After watching the video, access the database. 
To watch the next video, click on the arrow to the right of the video. 

Google Images

IMAGES
Google Images


Google Images is a simple tool for you to use to find images. Watch the short video below to learn how to search for and save images relevant to your project. After watching the video, access Google Images. 
To watch the next video, click on the arrow to the right of the video. 

More

Book icon

Search our Library Catalog

You can find books, articles, and videos using our catalog.  

Database icon

Database List

Access our full list of databases to search for more resources

list icon

MLA Citation Guide

Use our own MLA Citation Guide to help you format your citations in MLA Format.

Research Companion Videos

Research Companion

Explore these videos to assist you in the research process. Videos are divided into three categories: Find Information, Evaluate Information and Use Information.