Articles about social issues. Includes opinion articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and full-text periodical articles from magazines and newspapers. PCC offers a brief video with instructions for using this database.
A combined search of a wide variety of ProQuest databases offering full text access to articles from academic journals, newspapers, magazines and other periodicals covering a variety of subject areas. Includes ProQuest Research Library, GenderWatch, Ethnic NewsWatch, and many more databases.
A combined search of a wide variety of EBSCOhost databases containing thousands of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering all disciplines. Includes scholarly journal articles. Includes Academic Search Premier, America: History and Life, science and medicine/health databases, psychology databases, and many more. PCC offers a brief video with instructions for using this database, and more advanced ways to improve your search,
Newspaper articles from the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, and Washington Post. PCC offers a brief video with instructions for using this database.
Local News and Information
Tip: A simple Google Search for your community name or neighborhood name, plus the word "news," might lead you to local news publications that you hadn't heard of before! Be sure to seek out information about the websites you find, though
Look for an "about this site" link
Be wary of bias (hidden opinions). Does the website seem to have its own agenda?
Make an informed decision about whether or not you can trust what they are reporting.
Historical and current articles from Pasadena Weekly and Pasadena Star News. When searching, check the box labeled "must link to full text version" to restrict your search to articles you can view online.
A "good news newspaper" for the Pasadena and San Gabriel Valley. Their stated goal is "to highlight those people and events that make people love living and working in Pasadena, South Pasadena, Altadena, Monrovia, Duarte, Baldwin Park, West Covina, Arcadia and the surrounding cities with a sense of hope for our future. While our primary market is the African-American community in the cities of the San Gabriel Valley, our readers are, in fact, as ethnically diverse as the cities we serve."
South Pasadena Review provides daily South Pasadena News, free downloadable photos from local events, South Pasadena history with articles from as far back as 1903, restaurant reviews, a community directory, calendar of events, local weather & traffic and more for its readers.
The mission of the Pasadena Digital History Collaboration is to assemble, digitize, and make web-accessible historical documents and artifacts that represent Pasadena's heritage for the benefit of both the local community and researchers world-wide.
This official website provides general City of Los Angeles City Council information, council districts, council calendar, council meetings, live and on demand city council meetings, and past council vote results.