Skip to main content
Library Services During COVID-19 Closure
For Students >      For Faculty >
PCC Library Logo

English Research Guide

Welcome ENG 1C students!

Today's outline:

  • Library overview
  • Using library databases
  • Finding data about Community College students
  • Annotated bibliographies
  • MLA citations

Recommended Databases

Looking for more databases to choose from?
Check out PCC Library's full list of databases on the A-Z Database List page!

Data About Community College Students

Pasadena City College-specific data

  • Check out the latest PCC Observations publication for 2018/19. This report contains data on a variety of topics such as: # of students by ethnicity, and # of students by citizenship.
  • Check out PCC's Equity Dashboard, which provides a chart of success, retention and enrollment by student ethnicity.

California-wide data

These reports are from the California Community Colleges Chancellor's Office. For any of these reports, select either "Statewide" to get California-wide data. You may also select Pasadena to view PCC-specific data.

  • Student Enrollment Status report (gives a breakdown of students by statuses such as First-time student, First-time transfer student, Returning student, and more)
  • Student Citizenship Status summary (gives a breakdown of students by statuses such as US citizen, Permanent resident, Temporary resident, Refugee/Asylee, and more)
  • Special Population/Group Count Summary (gives a breakdown of students by groups such as CalWorks, DSP&S, Economically Disadvantaged, First Generation, Homeless, Incarcerated, Veteran, and more)

MLA Citations

MLA Citations - Overview:

Additional MLA resources:

Critical Race Counterstories Along the Chicana/o Educational Pipeline, by Tara J. Yosso

PCC Library has this book in both physical and online formats: