Skip to main content
Library Services During COVID-19 Closure
For Students >      For Faculty >
PCC Library Logo

Engineering Research Guide

Hello, ENGR 010 students!

After today's session, you will be able to:

  • Get assistance from PCC Library

  • Find topic ideas for your research paper

  • Use library databases (how to access them, how to search them, how to retrieve/access articles)

Slides Shown During Library Instruction Session

Sample Topic Ideas

Mechanical Engineering:

  • Robot & Robotics
  • Online Speech Language System
  • Automated Vehicles

Civil Engineering:

  • Earthquake Resistant / Fire Susceptible Buildings
  • Air Pollution / Green House Gas Emission
  • Water Pollution

Computer Engineering:

  • Imaging / Networking
  • Machine Learning
  • Virtualization

Electrical Engineering:

  • Grid / Power
  • Electrical Vehicles
  • Digital / Analog Electronics

Chemical Engineering:

  • Battery Science & Technology
  • Agricultural Food Chemistry
  • Physical Chemistry

Biomedical Engineering:

  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Improved / New Medical Imaging
  • Biomedical Signal Processing

Additional ideas...

Looking for more research paper topic ideas? Browse through these resources: 

  • The National Academy of Engineering's NAE Grand Challenges for Engineering report. This report summarizes 14 top engineering challenges affecting our world today.
  • The Science Gale in Context database "Browse Topics" section. This section lists out 100+ engineering and STEM topics, each complete with an overview of the topic and related articles. To get there, go to the Science Gale in Context database, and click on a button called "Browse Topics" (with a small lightbulb icon).

Recommended Databases

Looking for more databases to choose from?
Check out PCC Library's full list of databases on the A-Z Database List page!

APA Citations

Writing APA citations? Check out this 4-minute video on creating APA citations, it's a good primer for getting started:

When you're ready to start putting your References page together, you will need some APA citation formats to follow.

This is the format to follow for a scholarly article from a library database:

Author's Last Name, First Initial. (Year). Title of the article. Title of the Journal, volume number(issue number), page numbers. DOI if given.

And here is the format for a book:

Author's Last Name, First Initial. (Year). Title of the book. Publisher.


Looking for more APA formats and examples? Check out the following citing resources:


Looking for a different citation style, like MLA? Check out PCC Library's Citing Sources guide - it has info for both APA and MLA.