Skip to Main Content PCC Library Logo

PCC Library Technology Certificate Programs

A Library Guide for prospective/current/alumni students in the Library Technology, Archives & Digital Collections, and Digitization Certifcate Programs at Pasadena City College

LIB106 Internship Course

Library 106 - Library Technology Internship

Catalog Description: Supervised on-the-job experience in approved library setting. Pass/No Pass grading. ( 1 unit).

Prerequisite: Completion of Library Technology Certificate courses:

  • LIB 101 Introduction to Library Services for Paraprofessionals
  • LIB 104 Technical Services: Acquisitions and Collection Development

Requirements:

Time commitment:

For unpaid internships: a minimum of 60 hours is required for academic credit.

For paid internships:  a minimum of 75 hours is required for academic credit

Fall/Spring: a minimum of 4 hours per week for 16 weeks. Summer session: 4.5- 8 hours per week depending on the duration.

Instructor Approval:
Consult with the Library Technology Program Coordinator in advance,  6-8 weeks prior to the term of the internship. 
Contact: Joanna Chen Cham, jcham@pasadena.edu, (626) 585-7820 

The internship may include (but is not limited to) such experiences as:

• Process library and media materials for public use.

• Perform simple mending of library/media materials.

• Catalog simple library materials utilizing online bibliographic utilities.

• Compile statistical reports and write work procedures.

• Retrieve information from basic reference materials.

• Evaluate reference questions for appropriate responses.

• Verify bibliographic information and perform other searches for acquisitions.

• Assist librarians with library programs, activities or projects.

• Assist with patron holds, book deliveries, sorting and re-shelving library materials

General Guidelines:

  1. It is up to the student to identify the library in which the internship will be performed.
  2. The internship experience requires librarian supervision.
  3. The library organization must complete the college’s Internship Site Agreement (available from program coordinator).
  4. It is preferred that the internship be done in a library other than the one in which a person is currently employed. If it is the same library, duties must be delineated that are significantly different from current job responsibilities.
  5. The student should submit the a preliminary proposal to the Library Technology Program Coordinator once the internship site has been contacted. 
    • The Preliminary Proposal includes: 
      • Name of the library. • Name and signature of the librarian who will be supervising you. • A list of learning objectives you intend to achieve by the field practice experience. • Description of the duties to be performed. • A brief description of the techniques to be followed to determine whether or not the learning objectives have been achieved. The proposal form is available online (link below) 
  6. A completed Internship Time Log including a summary of work activities must be signed by the site supervisor and submitted before the end of the term. 
  7. A follow up evaluation form will be provided to the internship Supervisor. 

How to Start

The Internship is not required for the Certificate, but our current students and program alumni are very interested in internship opportunities. Some students are already working in libraries. Most students have previous relevant work experience but seek a career change to work in libraries. Please feel free to contact the program coordinator to discuss the programs and answer any questions.

The  PACCD Internship Agreement form is required and must be signed and approved prior to the start of the internship

Requirements: 

  • The College requires an Internship Site Contract form approved by both organizations.  
  • An Internship Learning Agreement and Performance Evaluation are also required (see Required Forms box)
  • Unpaid internships require a minimum of 60 hours for academic credit. Paid internship require 75 hours.​ 
  • Catalog Description: Supervised on-the-job experience in approved library setting. Pass/No Pass grading.
    • Library 106 - Library Technology Internship requires that the work experience is supervised by professional staff. 
    • The Internship course requires students have completed two prerequisite Library Technology Certificate courses: LIB 101 Introduction to Library Services for Paraprofessionals and LIB 104 Technical Services: Acquisitions and Collection Development.  Additional requirements for coursework or qualifications can also be required based on the internship setting or duties (e.g.  *Must be comfortable working with students in grades K-12; or coursework in cataloging.
  • An internship description including the follow details is helpful to recruit potential interns:
    • a brief overview of the duties (some examples are shown below)
    • the days and times available
    • any specific qualifications beyond the required prerequisites (e.g. technical skills, experience working
    • any organization requirements for volunteers
    • application procedure and deadline (e.g. submit resume to you or complete District volunteer application)
       
  • Example duties: The field experience may include (but is not limited to) such experiences as:
    • Process library and media materials for public use. • Perform simple mending of library/media materials. • Catalog simple library materials utilizing online bibliographic utilities. • Compile statistical reports and write work procedures. • Retrieve information from basic reference materials. • Evaluate reference questions for appropriate responses. • Verify bibliographic information and perform other searches for acquisitions. • Assist librarians with library programs, activities or projects. • Assist with patron holds, book deliveries, sorting and re-shelving library materials

Internships can be scheduled during any PCC term. 

Fall and Spring: a minimum of 4 hours per week for 16 weeks.

Summer session: the students would have to complete a minimum of 60 hours during a 10-14 week period but the start an end dates can be flexible within that time period (approximately 4.5- 6 hours per week depending on the duration.

Winter Intersession: a minimum of 10 hours for 6 weeks. 

For more information, contact Joanna Chen Cham, Library Certificate Program Coordinator, PCC Library, (626) 585-7820, jcham@pasadena.edu