Skip to main content
Library Services During COVID-19 Closure
For Students >      For Faculty >
PCC Library Logo

Archives, Pasadena City College: Our Collections

This guide contains information on the Pasadena City College Archives

 

Please also see the overview and access policies for the Pasadena City College Archives.

Archives Inventory

Use CTRL-F (Windows) or COMMAND-F (Mac) to keyword search the table.

TOPIC
DESCRIPTION
DATE RANGE
LOCATION/Box NUMBER
CREATOR
AVAILABLE ON PASADENA DIGITAL HISTORY WEBSITE

https://www.pasadenadigitalhistory.com

Accreditation

Self-evaluation, follow-up report

1955, 2014, 2016.

AD1-16

 

No

Administration, Board of Trustees

Policies, Agendas and Meetings

1968-Present

AD35 - AD155

AD424 - AD425

PACCD.  Board of Trustees

See Board of Trustees website

Affirmative Action

Policy, handbook, meetings, committees, etc.

1970s-2001

AD24 - AD27

Human Resources

No

Alumni Office

Printed materials and metals

1920s-1990s

AD 28 - AD 32

Pasadena High School and Pasadena 

No

Associated Student Body

ASB Newsletter

1940s-1970s, 2010

SS14 - SS28

ASB Cabinet and committees

No

Association of Black Employees and Asian American Association

Printed materials, photographs and VHS

1950s to present

AD256 - AD272

 

No

Bookstore

History,  Bookstore: the past, present and future, Procedures

1980 to present

SS29

Leslie Thompson, Bookstore manager

Yes-partial.  There are photographs of the bookstore staff dating back to the 1920s which are on the PDHC site. 

Budget

Adopted Budgets

1966- Present

AD156 - AD202, AD 206 and AD 421 - AD423.

 

Beginning in 2008 these are now posted on the campus website at https://pasadena.edu/business-administrative-services/fiscal-services/budget.php

Business and Computer Technology

Printed materials from department

1970s to present

ID26 - ID27

 

No

California Federation of Teachers

Policies and other printed materials

2013

IS15

Julio Herta (President of ISSU-CFT)

No

Career and Technical Education

Handbooks and miscellaneous printed material

1980s to 2012

IS4 - IS7

 

Yes-partial; limited to photographs

Career/Job Placement Center

Variety of printed materials

1950s to present

SS35 - SS38

 

No

Center for the Arts

Art nights, List of donors, etc.   

The printed materials include brochures, guides and photographs

2009 -2015

ID221

 

No

Child Development Center

Variety of printed materials

1975 to present

SS39

 

Yes-partial.  There are a number of photographs which are on the PDHC site.  

Classified Employees

General policies, handbook, salary table, Classified Senate, etc. printed materials

1950s to present

AD227- AD249, AD417-AD418

 

No

Commencement

History, dress code, commencement addresses including transcript of commencement address by Dr. Jack Scott.

1893-present

SS40 - SS44

 

Yes-partial.  There are a number of photographs which are on the PDHC site.

"Desert Campus"

Desert Campus was a continuation of the Civil Aeronautics Administration training given to civilians.  Dr. E. Howard Floyd and Leland McAuley set up PJC's Desert Campus in Baker

1942-1944

Yearbooks; also mentioned in the 75th Anniversary Book

 

https://pasadena.edu/about/documents/PCC-75th-History.pdf

Disabled Student Programs and Services

Variety of printed materials

1970s to present

SS51 - SS52

 

No

Distance Education

Annual program plan, online television courses

2003 to present

ID28

 

No

Engineering and Technology

Handbooks other printed materials

1970s to present

ID29 - ID36

 

No

English

Policy manual, procedures handbook for faculty

1960s to present

ID40

 

No

Faculty

Handbook, meeting agendas, publications, etc.

1960s to present

AD224 - AD225, AD255 - AD295

 

PCC Directories from 1968-2008 are available on the PDHC at:

tinyurl.com/y8qo9dap

Faculty Senate

Agendas, minutes, manual, memorandum, awards, etc.

1960s to present

AD296 - AD328

 

No

Financial Aid and Scholarships

President's Award, annual reports, etc.

1960 to present

SS79 - SS84

 

No

Health Sciences

Spiral folders, photographs, scrapbook and printed materials.  History of Nursing Department.

1937, 1953 to present

ID42 - ID51

Lilian Vosloh

Yes-partial

History of Pasadena Area Community College District

Printed materials, newspaper clippings, and plans

1924, 1960s, 1970s

H115

Pasadena Area Community College District.

Yes-partial

History of Pasadena City Schools.

Board of Education, policies, curriculum, reports, publications, statistics, surveys, teacher handbook

1888-1967

H99 - H108, H112

Pasadena City Schools, Board of Education.

Yes-partial

History of Pasadena Junior College.

History of the community or junior college movement in California.

Publications on establishment, role, goals and functions of junior colleges

1930s-1950s

H57, H63 - H66

W. Ewing, J.W. Harbeson, and J.A. Sexon

Yes-partial

History of Pasadena Junior College.  Physical Education

1932-1934 Tennis tournament, reports.  Includes text documents and newspaper clippings.

1920s-1940s

H58 - H62

Physical Education department.  Chadil, Bob

No

History of Pasadena Junior College.  Reunions

25th, 40th, 50th and 75th anniversaries.  Oral history project, new buildings, Reunions (classes of 1904, 1925, 1930s-1960s)

1920s-2005

H76 - H84, H90, H92, H94 - H98

Pasadena City College Reunion Committee. William Grainger, Mary Ann Laun

Yes-partial

History of PHS

Dramatic Club, Player's Guild, Ms Keppie's Plays, programs, scrapbooks, etc.

1910-1929

H 1-2

E.E. Keppie

Yes- partial

History of PHS

Historical photographs, postcards, and album with PHS students' autographs

1910-1913, 1925, 1929

H3

 

Yes-partial

History of PJC

Aircraft,Air-coeds

Print documents, photos, VHS.

1930s-1950s and 2014

Campus 1940

H6 - H8

 

Locked Case

Mel Heflinger, Oscar Chavez, Frank Kilmer

Yes-partial

History of PJC

Buildings

PHS, PJC buildings.  Print documents, photos and plans

1911-1988

H54

Donald R. Holthaus

Yes-partial

History of PJC.

Teacher Load Reports.

 

1932-1979

H68 - H75

Office of the Research Director

No

History of PJC.  Annual Reports

Annual reports from various departments, fact finding committees, statistics, curriculum surveys

1930-1968

H10 - H53, H67

PJC/PCC Academic departments and steering committees

No

History of PJC.  Clubs and Organizations

Policies, Guide to the Clubs and Organizations on Campus through the years which includes digital images of their membership pins.

1929-1939, 1950s

Pins are in MB17-19

H126 - H127

 

Yes-partial

Horrell Field

Name change in 1999 to Robinson Stadium

1957-1990s

Locked cases.  Pageant yearbook, 1958, pg 236.  

 

No

Institution Planning

Research Office, reports

1980s to present

AD340 - AD349

 

No

Instructional

General policies and procedures, Manager's handbook, Curriculum & instruction, Program review

1990s to present

ID1 - ID25

 

No

Instructional Support

Programs, handbooks, forums, history, services for high school students, media services including campus radio station and KPCC; Agreement between PACCD and ISSU.

1940s to present

IS1 - IS33

 

Yes-partial, primarily photographs

Instructional/Math Dept.

Syllabus, faculty load, objectives, meeting agendas, grade distributions.

1970s-2015

ID220, ID280 - ID 289

 

No

J.W. Harbeson Papers

"Problems faced in the early history of Pasadena Junior College"

1928

History of PJC H55, Locked Cabinets Archive 378.1543 P 5-28

J.W. Harbeson

Yes

Kinesiology, Health and Athletics

Annual reports, Court of Champions, Hall of Fame, etc.  Includes newspaper clippings from the mid-centry as well as scrapbooks and printed materials like game programs.

1940 to present

ID53 - ID75

 

Yes-partial

Languages

Unit plans, ESL materials

1930s to present

ID76 - ID77

 

No

Library

Annual reports, staff meeting agendas, minutes, awards, budget, program review, statistics, surveys, publicity and unit plans

1920, 1930 to present

ID79 - ID 218

 

Yes-partial

Management Association

Policy, Constitution, handbook, etc.

1980s to present

AD351 - AD353

 

No

Mascots at Pasadena City College

Bulldog as PHS/PJC mascoct.  Lancer as PCC mascot.

1916, 1925, 1928, 1954

Locked Cases.   

The Item Annual. PHS June 1916 and June 1925.

Pasadena Chronicle, 9/14/2918, and the PCC Courier, 11/24/1954.

 

Yes.  The Item has been completely digitized.

Master Plans, Measure P

Academic, Educational, Environmental impact, Construction Act

1960s to present

AD354 - AD358

 

No

Matriculation

Program plan, memorandums, minutes from meetings, reports

1990-2007

SS71

 

No

Natural Sciences

Research reports, unit plans, etc.

1960s, 1970s, 2008

ID221

   

Occupational/Adult Training Center

Printed materials

1970s

IS22

 

No

Order of Mast and Dagger Honorary organization

History, rosters, tapping ceremonies, membership criteria, many photo albums.

1960s to present

SS73 - SS74; H126 - H127

 

Yes-partial 

Parent Teacher Student Association

History of organization, Weekend College, brochures

1960s-2006

IS23 - IS26

 

No

Parker School/Pasadena Academy

The Pasadena Academy under the direction of M.M. Parker, Throop University, California Institute of Technology

1883, 1891, 1920

TR979.4931P1, pg. 51-153

Pasadena: It's early years by Henry Page, Los Angeles, Ca 1964.

No

Parking, Police and Safety Services

Emergency procedures, rules, etc.

1970s to present

AD361 - AD368

 

No

Partnership for Excellence

Printed materials

1990s to 2007

AD364

Institution Planning and Research Office 

No

Pasadena College

Pasadena College (1949-1973) is now Point Loma Nazarene University in San Diego.   There is no affiliation between PCC and Pasadena College.  Also known as:Pacific Bible College and Nazarene University.  

     

No

Performing and Communication Arts

History of the Music Department, Unit Plan, programs.  Bulldog and Lancer Band, Paul Kilian, Tournament of roses.

1980s-2000s

ID222 - ID255

 

Yes-partial

Photographs

Campus photos

1909-Present

F1-31

Campus and external photographers

Yes

Presidents

Overview of PHS, PJC and PCC Presidents

1920-1990s

PCC Courier. Feb. 29, 1996.

PCC History in the Making by Reyna Grande.

No

Policy and Procedure Manual

Organizational structure, college/district committees

1990s to present

AD370 - AD372

 

No

Presidents

Printed materials

1950s to present

AD373 - AD383

 

See also Locked Case-Biography files

Shared Governance

Policy and procedures, memorandums.  Gordon Brown controversy

1988 to present

AD383 - AD393

 

No

Social Sciences

Annual program plan, unit plans, etc.   

California Humanity Project (ID 257-ID258)

Women and the Humanities (ID259 - ID 260)

Writings by Lauren Davis, Ralph J. Hallman, and Susie Ling.

1970s to present

ID257 - ID 262

 

No

Student Handbook

Constitution, legal code

1937 to present

SS86 – SS90

 

No

Student Learning Outcomes

Program, guidelines, agenda/minutes

2005 to present

IS28 - IS29

 

No

Student Publications

Mad Dog, Huddle, Mustang, Vo-Mag, The Globe 

1929, 1930s - 1960s, 2008

SS92 - SS108

 

No

Student Services

Variety of printed materials

1940s to present

SS1 - SS138

Office of Admissions, Records and Registration; Office of Institutional Researcg

No

Study Abroad

Programs, guidelines

1980-2014

IS30

 

No

Teaching and Learning Communities Program

Handbooks

2000 to present

IS31

 

No

Textbooks Lists

By title and By Course

1964-2006

SS110 - SS131

 

No

The name "Pasadena City College"

J.A. Sexon's letter to the Board of Education.

1947

 

J.A. Sexson

Yes

Tuesday Evening Forum

Variety of printed materials

1930s - 1980s

IS8

 

No

Ujima Program

Printed assorted materials

2011

SS134

 

 

Unit Plans

Institutional planning process

2000

AD394 - AD404

PCC Departments

No

Upward Bound

Assorted printed materials

2000-2014

SS135

 

No

Visual Arts and Media Studies

Unit plans, media awards, catalogs, etc.  Mural project (ID272 - ID274).  Notebook/scrapbook dated 1955 from Benita Francis (ID275)

Note: we do not have historical information on the gallery and the exhibitions; most of the documentation is relatively recent.   

1940s to present

ID263 - ID278, IS17 - IS21

 

Yes-partial