Research Guides: Modern Africa: Citation Style

MLA Style Guides and Examples

MLA Style QuickGuide from PCC
Guidelines and examples for MLA format citations.

MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
Access to the 9th edition of the MLA Handbook, the MLA Guide to Digital Literacy, and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature. Also offers the MLA Style 101 course, which consists of 11 instructional videos and a final quiz.

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (Excelsior OWL)
Examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page.
MLA Style Center
Guidelines, tips and advice for MLA citations, direct from the Modern Language Association, the organization behind MLA style.
MLA Citation Examples (from EasyBib)
Guide to MLA citation format, provided by EasyBib.
MLA Style Citation Examples
Access to sample citations for articles for many types of sources. From Valencia College, Orlando FL.
How do I cite generative AI in MLA style?
Guidelines for citing ChatGPT and other chatbots in MLA style.

MLA Handbook, 9th Edition by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: REF LB2369 .G53 2021
Publication Date: 2021
The MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list.

APA Style Guides and Examples

APA 7 QuickGuide from PCC
PCC's printable quick reference to APA 7 citation format.

APA Style - Excelsior OWL
In-depth coverage of APA 7 style, including citing and formatting.
EasyBib Guide to Citing and Writing in APA Format
Guide to APA citation format, provided by EasyBib.
How to cite ChatGPT
Guidelines for citing ChatGPT and similar generative AI chatbots in APA style.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed. by American Psychological Association
Call Number: REF BF76.7 .P83 2020
Publication Date: 2020
In addition to providing guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, this manual offers an authoritative reference and citation system. It also covers the treatment of numbers, statistical and mathematical data, tables and figures.

Citation Generators

Citation generators format your citations for you based on information that you input into a form. This can be a convenient tool, but it is NOT 100% accurate. ALWAYS check that the citation is formatted correctly.

NoodleTools Express
Free tool for generating MLA, APA and Chicago style citations.
Citation Machine
A free resource from Landmarks for Schools.
KnightCite Citation Service
A free citation generator maintained by the Hekman Library of Calvin College in Grand Rapids, Michigan. Select your citation style in the top left-hand corner to get started!
EasyBib
Generate citations in MLA, APA & Chicago formats.

Annotated Bibliographies

Need help creating an annotated bibliography? These resources will get you started!

What are Annotated Bibliographies?
Guidelines and sample annotated bibliographies in MLA and APA style. From EasyBib.
Annotated Bibliographies (Excelsior OWL)
Explanation of annotated bibliographies, what they should contain and a downloadable example.

Modern Africa

Why you MUST cite your sources

What is Plagiarism?

MLA Style Guides and Examples

APA Style Guides and Examples

Citation Generators

Annotated Bibliographies