Research Guides: Philosophy Research Guide: Beginning Your Research

Reference Sources

Reference resources help you choose, explore and develop your topic! Reference sources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries contain overviews and background information. They sometimes contain statistics, definitions and lists of resources for further study. When you have a better understanding of your topic, it will be easier to come up with the search terms you'll use to find the books and articles you need.

Wikipedia is a reference source because it is an encyclopedia. You can use it to discover ideas and links to additional resources -- but never cite it as a source in your papers! This rule exists because Wikipedia entries can be edited at any time, by anyone, and so its accuracy can never be relied upon at any given moment.

Online Philosophy Resources: Encyclopedias, Videos and More

(IEP) www.iep.utm.edu
The purpose of the IEP is to provide open access to peer-reviewed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) plato.stanford.edu
Free peer-reviewed philosophy encyclopedia with up-to-date entries maintained by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public.

Wireless Philosophy www.wi-phi.com
Free online videos to introduce people to the practice of philosophy. Also includes links to additional online resources for the study of Philosophy. YouTube channel is at www.youtube.com/user/WirelessPhilosophy

Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Call Number: eBook - Access Online
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
A Short History of Greek Philosophy by John Marshall
Call Number: eBook - Access Online
Publication Date: 2011

Featured Print Reference Material

The Oxford Companion to Philosophy by Ted Honderich (Editor)
Call Number: REF B 51 .O94 2005
An in-depth philosophical reference work furnishes clear and reliable guidance on the ideas of philosophers, ranging from antiquity to the present day, and the major philosophical systems around the globe
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy by Robert Audi (Editor)
Call Number: REF B41 .C35 2015
This is the leading, full-scale comprehensive dictionary of philosophical terms and thinkers to appear in English in more than half a century. Written by a team of more than 550 experts and now widely translated, it contains approximately 5,000 entries ranging from short definitions to longer articles. It is designed to facilitate the understanding of philosophy at all levels and in all fields. Key features of this third edition include: * 500 new entries covering Eastern as well as Western philosophy, and covering individual countries such as China, France, Germany, Italy, and Spain * Increased coverage of such growing fields as ethics and philosophy of mind * More than 100 new intellectual portraits of leading contemporary thinkers * Wider coverage of Continental philosophy * Dozens of new technical concepts in cognitive science and other areas * Enhanced cross-referencing to add context and increase understanding * Expansions in both text and index to facilitate research and browsing
Little Book of Big Ideas: Philosophy by Jeremy Stangroom
Call Number: REF BD21 .S655 2007
This smart handbook gathers a wealth of insight and information on 50 of the greatest philosophical thinkers and 10 of the greatest theories ever conceived in a concise and accessible format. Readers will come to grips with the key concepts that are the backbone of philosophical thought, including metaphysics, psychoanalysis, libertarianism, and feminism. The most influential figures are presented, from the classical voices of Socrates, Aristotle, and Plato to the revolutionary polemics of Marx and the educational lessons of Piaget and Chomsky. This book is for an aspiring intellectual, a deep thinker, or anyone who wants to brush up on what they forgot from college. Everything one needs to know about the groundbreaking, complex world of philosophy is expertly packed into this pocketful of knowledge.

Philosophy Research Guide

Search online reference ebooks with Gale eBooks

Exploring a Topic

Off Campus Log In (Database Access)

Reference Sources

Online Philosophy Resources: Encyclopedias, Videos and More

Featured Print Reference Material