Skip to main content
Library Services During COVID-19 Closure
For Students >      For Faculty >
PCC Library Logo

English Research Guide

Welcome to the Library Research Session for English 1A (Ogden)!

In today's session we will:

  • Review library resources & services (laptop borrowing, study rooms, textbooks... and much more!)
  • Practice using databases (including OED, Opposing Viewpoints, and EBSCO)
  • Practice using the library catalog (great for finding books & ebooks!)
  • Recap & survey

Library Resources & Services Intro

Suggested Databases

OED

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)

The OED is the accepted authority on the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words in the English language, both present and past.

Opposing viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints

Articles about social issues. Includes opinion articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and full-text periodical articles from magazines and newspapers.

EBSCOhost

EBSCOhost

A combined search of a wide variety of EBSCOhost databases containing thousands of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering all disciplines. Includes scholarly journal articles. Includes Academic Search Premier, America: History and Life, science and medicine/health databases, psychology databases, and many more.

Book icon

Search our Library Catalog

You can find books, articles, and videos using our catalog.  

Database icon

Database List

Access our full list of databases to search for more resources

list icon

MLA Citation Guide

Use our own MLA Citation Guide to help you format your citations in MLA Format.

Library help

Help

Find research help on-campus or off-campus!