Skip to main content
Library Services During COVID-19 Closure
For Students >      For Faculty >
PCC Library Logo

English Research Guide

Welcome ENGL 1A

English 1A

Objectives

Today, you will:

  • Identify a research topic and brainstorm keywords / related terms 

  • Find at least two useful, credible sources in library databases

  • Determine what characteristics make a source trustworthy

  • Email MLA format  from databases; know sources to check MLA formatting

 

Databases

First: gather background information on your topics using one of these databases  
Then: explore these databases to gather sources to support your research
Project Muse JSTOR Springer
Search a wide variety of EBSCOhost databases containing thousands of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering all disciplines. ProQuest will search through a wide-range of databases and subjects.  You can access newspaper, magazine, and journal articles Project Muse provides full text scholarly journal articles covering the humanities and social sciences. JSTOR is a full text database with academic journals, books, and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. PCC has access to JSTOR's Arts & Sciences I, II, III, V, VII, and XI collections. Scholarly articles, downloadable eBooks, and encyclopedias covering science, technology, engineering, math, the social sciences and humanities.
  • All of our databases can be accessed off-campus.  Make sure to use the Library links when doing so. 
  • Some of our resources can be accessed through Google Scholar.
  • Access a full list of our databases here: Library Databases