Skip to main content
Library Services During COVID-19 Closure
For Students >      For Faculty >
PCC Library Logo

English Research Guide

Welcome to your library research session! 

Please follow this link to participate in our interactive poll.

Today you will: 

  • develop a research question
  • brainstorm keywords for searching
  • learn to keep track of your sources
  • find books in the library's catalog
  • find articles in the library's databases

Consult the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) website for an overview of how to organize your rhetorical argument using the Toulmin, Aristolelean, and Rogerian styles.

Keep Track of Your Sources

You will be creating an annotated bibliography. This includes

  • a list of the sources (books, articles, websites, etc.) you find through your research
  • a brief summary and evaluation of each source

Consult this handy guide from Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (OWL) for detailed info.

As you search, keep a Word document open so that you can take notes on the sources you find. Email database articles to yourself. 

Databases

First: gather background information on your topics using one of these databases  
link to Gale Ebooks
Then: explore these databases to gather sources to support your research
PCC Library home
Search a wide variety of EBSCOhost databases containing thousands of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering all disciplines. ProQuest will search through a wide-range of databases and subjects.  You can access newspaper, magazine, and journal articles Search our catalog for books.  You can borrow books for 2 weeks at a time.
  • All of our databases can be accessed off-campus.  Make sure to use the Library links when doing so. 
  • Some of our resources can be accessed through Google Scholar.
  • Access a full list of our databases here: Library Databases